How to Teach

How to Teach

by Tammy Takahashi

Teach without attachment to the outcome.
Teach without the need to be right.
Teach with the desire to see our kids spread their own wings.
Teach with the viewpoint that we aren’t there to direct their lives, but to help them discover who they are (and we get to discover them in the process).
Teach as if we have all the time in the world. Because we do.
Teach as if there is no end, no beginning. There is nowhere to go. There is nowhere to run to.
Teach like you might explore an uncharted cave, or go on a safari.
Teach as if we ourselves are the students. Because, in many ways, we are.
Enjoy the journey. Whatever that journey is.

8 Responses to “How to Teach”

  1. anna Says:

    That is beautiful! I love it!

  2. Anna Says:

    “All the time in the world” both excites and terrifies me.

  3. Tammy Says:

    I love this quote:

    “Feel the fear. And do it anyway.”

    You do have all the time in the world though. It’s humanity and individuals that give time meaning.

    It’s not about how much time we put into our life, it’s about how much life we put into our time.

  4. tobeme Says:

    I love this! This will be posted by my desk! Thanks for sharing this.

  5. Kate in NJ Says:

    I’m going to try to live by this.
    Thanks

  6. Sherry Says:

    You got me with the first line! I’ve posted in at least two comments today about “the journey.” Very nice.

  7. Lill Says:

    My daughter (9) and I just read this and realized that we’re zen-schoolers too. This is so good. Did you come up with it or find it somewhere? I’d love to share it in a post, if that’s okay.

    Shine On,
    Lill

  8. valiens Says:

    You’ve said it so well. In my best unschooling moments these are my thoughts. Since we left NYC I haven’t had the same level of confidence about unshooling. That’s too long a time.

    Thanks for the words of encouragement both here and on my blog. There are so few unschoolers here, and none with kids older than mine to inspire confidence.


Leave a comment