Deschooling Gently

Moving from full time school to homeschooling is a major transition. It can be compared to moving to a new state, getting married (or rather, getting divorced?), having a baby or giving up french fries.

There is a term that shuffles itself around, particularly during the September and October months, and that is “deschooling”. The general advice is to take time off from “school”; one month for every year a child is in school. Ideally, that means not touching one school book and just living life – whatever that is – and slowly moving back into a schedule after a given “rest” period.

This entry has been moved. Read the rest of this article at the new location: Deschooling Gently at the Just Enough Blog

13 Responses to “Deschooling Gently”

  1. Shari Says:

    Tammy,

    You make excellent points! I wish I had had this list when I took my son out of fifth grade and started homeschooling. Thank you!

  2. Joseph Ryan Says:

    Tammy,
    I am glad I got to read this now, before we take our kids out of school. This gives me real confidence. Thanks!

  3. Jolene Says:

    Tammy, I think I may be in love with you. You have put my mind at ease and made me understand how I want to go about homeschool and just well given me hope that I am doing the right thing. Thank you. You are my angel.

  4. Kay Says:

    Tammy — thank you so much for these words of wisdom! I am so glad to have found this before starting homeschooling my 13 year old. She has had such a horrible time in school that the deschooling is exactly what we both need! Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

  5. Just Enough, and Nothing More Deschooling Is Not a Diet « Says:

    […] is where deschooling is important. Deschooling isn’t taking a break – it’s recreating a life. Many people […]

  6. Mom Is Teaching » Blog Archive » Will You Start The New Year Homeschooling? Says:

    […] from the tightly structured school day to a looser homeschool day to give your kids time to unwind. Deschooling is letting them get it out of their system, to unlearn that learning is a chore to be avoided but […]

  7. Colorado Homeschool » Deschooling Says:

    […] Read more Deschooling Gently […]

  8. E. Stone Says:

    De-schooling: I LOVE IT!! I just pulled my 13 yr. old out of public school to homeschool. He suffered from depression, anxiety, etc. After he went back to school from being gone for 2 months, we told the school that he shouldn’t be pressured. My son is probably 2 yrs. ahead anyway. Well, they couldn’t leave it alone! So…..we pulled him out after much praying and thought. We are now De-schooling. You are right, it is hard, but his mind needs a rest.

    Thank you for your words of wisdom.

  9. Danielle Says Hello Says:

    I know this is an old post but I wanted to let you know how much it has helped. This is week three of my soon to be thirteen year old no longer attending ‘public’ school.

  10. Pluttification Says:

    […] reinvigorating self-confidence, self-esteem and an enjoyment of learning is through a process of deschooling.  Or, essentially taking time off from school.  Recommended:  one month for every year a child […]

  11. Deschooling Gently Now in Print « Just Enough, and Nothing More Says:

    […] all started with this post, called Deschooling Gently. Then I added the “fearless homeschooling” to the title. From there, it all came […]

  12. Sarah Says:

    I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to find your post. I’m in week 6 of homeschooling my 5th and 6th graders, and to say it’s been difficult is an understatement. I keep reading about deschooling, but I just can’t do it! You really put things into perspective for me. Thanks a million!

  13. New to Unschooling? Begin at the Beginning | Christian Unschooling Says:

    […] every year in school and longer for the adults. )  A great article on deschooling can be found here. When we deschooled we focused only on the Bible– that was it as far as curriculum […]


Leave a comment