Friday Five – Books In Your To-Be-Read Pile

How many of you have a to-be-read pile a mile high next to your bed? What are the top 5 books?

Here are mine (not counting the ones I’m in the middle of reading):

1. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

2. Getting Things Done by David Allen (I’ve had this book for three months. I really need to read it.)

3. The Universe in a Single Atom by The Dalai Lama

4. Earth by David Brin

5. Top Ten Uses for an Unworn Prom Dress by Tina Ferraro

Your turn! If you put your list on your blog, make sure to link it here in the comments!

7 Responses to “Friday Five – Books In Your To-Be-Read Pile”

  1. Karen Says:

    Faith of My Fathers, by John McCain with Mark Salter

    Modern Ireland, 1600 – 1972, by R. F. Foster

    Content Management with Plone, Handbook for Authors and Editors, Updated for Plone 2.1, by Thomas Lotze, Christian Theune

    Eat That Frog! 21 Great Ways to Stop Procrastination and Get More Done in Less Time, by Brian Tracy

    The Boleyn Inheritance, by Philippa Gregory

  2. Dawn Says:

    I always have a long list of books too. If only there were enough time in life to read all the books I’d like to!
    Here’s mine:
    http://ackroydhouse.blogspot.com/2008/05/friday-five-books-in-your-to-be-read.html

  3. Kris Bordessa Says:

    Ooh. Getting Things Done is scary. 😉 I couldn’t fathom dumping all of my stuff in the middle of the room to get started, so never finished.

    My biggest reading project at the moment is Mother Earth News – everything else is packed.

  4. schooldownthelane Says:

    Mile high pile of book? Me? Um….yah.

    The next five on the list are:

    City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau-I’ve read it, but need to re-read it for my teen book club next Friday.

    What Would The Founders Do? by Richard Brookhiser

    Face Down O’er the Border by Kathy Lynn Emerson

    People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

    Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor (Sequel to The Looking Glass Wars)-My daughter is driving me crazy trying to get me to read it so she has someone to talk to about it 😉 Not that it will be a great hardship, I loved The Looking Glass Wars.

  5. Kari Says:

    Some of these have been in my pile for a LOOOONG time, some just made it there–here are five (there are others but I’ll just pick these):

    The Mother Tongue: English & How It Got That Way by Bill Bryson–just for fun because I like words

    Three Cups of Tea: One Man’s Mission to Promote Peace …One School at a Time by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin–my neighbor lent this to me and thinks it is right up my alley

    The Breastfeeding Answer Book and a huge stack of LLL publications–I’m working to come out of retirement as a LLL Leader

    The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory because I read it too fast when it first came out in paperback and I can’t remember it and I’d rather read that than see the movie

    The Blue Shoes of Happiness and The Good Husband of Zebra Drive by Alexander McCall Smith–my daughter and I really love this series and want to go to Botswana because of it

  6. Hazel Woodward Says:

    Please could someone tell me what the pile of books next to your bed is called? My sister’s told me twice and I’m embarrassed to ask her again! It’s got a special name. something like cumberbander but not that obviously


Leave a comment