Chelsea Link, 18, Homeschooled, Accepted to Yale, Harvard, Princeton, Columbia, Stanford, U of Chicago, and Northwestern

Chelsea Link says this about her extraordinary, yet relaxed, life: “I think I’ve had a pretty normal high school experience . . . just without the high school.”

Another interesting quote by Christopher Watson, admissions dean at Northwestern, “We haven’t changed the way we review applications, but the way home-schoolers are submitting applications has changed,” he said. “They’ve become very good at taking out the question marks.”

Perhaps it’s a combination of the two? Northwestern may not have changed it’s admissions process, but other universities have.

Congratulations Chelsea! Reading science magazines and playing music is a fine way to go through childhood.

6 Responses to “Chelsea Link, 18, Homeschooled, Accepted to Yale, Harvard, Princeton, Columbia, Stanford, U of Chicago, and Northwestern”

  1. Universities changing admittance process for homeschooled students « Only Sometimes Clever Says:

    […] changing admittance process for homeschooled students Tammy at Just Enough had a post today about a young woman from the Chicago area, Chelsea Link, who was accepted to all seven of […]

  2. Laura :) Says:

    I’m not sure how to feel about this one…..

    I had a feeling she was gifted….those schools don’t take the average kid, and she is by no means your average kid.

    Dang, I’m going to sound whiney but I’d like to have money to go to Tibet and France….every Summer!!! 😉

    It will play well to have a homeschooler accepted to so many top notch schools, but she would have no matter where she went to school.

  3. suburbancorrespondent Says:

    Ugh – I think we need to take homeschooling back from the overachievers…the goal of homeschooling is not to get into all the best colleges, you know – though I certainly don’t begrudge Chelsea her smarts or her success. It’s just that the point of her homeschooling is that it made her an interesting person who was able to explore her passions, not that she was admitted to “top” schools.

  4. ilovechicagocash Says:

    congratulations to her… we need to protect the right of parents to homeschool their kids

  5. Chelsea Says:

    Suburbancorrespondent, with all due respect, I’d rather like to take home schooling back from the overachievement-bashers. What exactly qualifies as “overachieving” vs. just “achieving,” and what about it is so “ugh”-inspiring?

    I think “the goal of homeschooling” is up to each individual home schooler. My original goal in home schooling was pretty much to have the freedom to “overachieve” if I darn well felt like it, without being hassled by The Man. When I was five, I certainly was not thinking, “So first, I’ll ditch school, and then I’ll make sure to pursue my passions and score well on tests so I can get into a top-ranked colege…” What I was actually thinking was more like, “You know, I really love reading chapter books, and I want to learn to write in cursive, and I kind of like long division, and I’m not really allowed to do any of those things here, so…forget this.”

    When high school came around, though, I will willingly admit that I had two goals in designing my curriculum: 1) to continue to learn and do interesting things, and 2) to get into a good college. And why did I want to get into a good college? So that I could continue to have the freedom to go where I want to go and do what I want to do. I’m going to Harvard for all the same reasons I stopped going to kindergarten – it has very little to do with degrees of achievement, and everything to do with having fun and enjoying life to the fullest. I sincerely hope that this simple desire will soon cease to evoke an “ugh” reaction.

  6. What is overachieving, exactly? « Red Sea School Says:

    […] attitude gets under my skin, which is why I enjoyed a somewhat older exchange I just found on Just Enough, and Nothing More. Tammy Takashi posted a story about a homeschooler, […]


Leave a Reply

