A (Home) School Like Mine

Have you seen the book, A Life Like Mine? It has profiles of children all over the world, and what their everyday lives are like. Beautiful, vibrant pictures line the pages. It truly gives a snapshot into the various ways of life in our global community.

Imagine my surprise when I saw A School Like Mine at the library, which has profiles of what children of the world think of their schools, and it includes an American homeschooler as one of the profiles! I must say, I am quite impressed.

There is a third book called A Faith Like Mine. I was impressed with how well it covered the essence of each religion – specifically Buddhism, Christianity, and Judaism, which are the three I know the most about. The other religions also seemed quite thorough and accurate.

These books rise up to the challenge of showing the diversity of the world to our children in a much deeper way than one would expect with so little space in which to express it.

Before I finish this review, I’d like to mention how extraordinary it is that this new book, A School Like Mine, incorporates a homeschooler as one of the profiles. This has a serious implication of how homeschooling has become so tied into the national view of American culture.

I don’t think that this has come around simply because we’ve been growing in numbers (although that is part of it), or because we’re on the brink of an educational revolution which will either change or break our public school system. I think that this global recognition has come around because homeschoolers have risen up to be a force to be reckoned with both politically and socially, primarily by tapping into the powerful network of the internet. We have a pretty large footprint here. We’re a major part of the emerging online culture.

I still am convinced that the internet is what will be the tipping point of when and how American education adapts to modern needs. With that, homeschoolers are riding the wave, and we’ll sail in right along with it, because we’ve been surfing on it for a long, long time.

3 Responses to “A (Home) School Like Mine”

  1. Louisa Says:

    This looks like a great set of books, but do you agree with the reviewer ‘momof4’ on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/review/product/0756618037/ref=cm_cr_dp_synop?%5Fencoding=UTF8&sortBy=bySubmissionDateDescending#R42QRPTTAX3DA
    that says ‘A life Like Mine’ is not suitable for homeschoolers?

    What about ‘a school like mine’? Does this run in the same vein and if so, what did your children make of comparing schools around the world to the homescool they attend?

  2. sunniemom Says:

    Tammy- I completely agree that technologies like the internet will be what brings education into the 21st century- I think it has been roaming with the dinosaurs long enough. ūüėČ

    I’m going to reserve those books at the library- they look really interesting.

    BTW- I read the momof4 review, and while I suppose I understand her concern, one of the reasons I enjoy HSing is that I can introduce controversial ideas to my kids and watch their little wheels turn. Attempting to shield kids from diverse views tends to boomerang when you aren’t looking.

  3. Sara Says:

    We own A Life Like Mine, and now I’m going to see if my library has the others. I’m especially interested to know that there is one about religion, so thanks!

    And I also went and read the review by Momof4, and I have to say that I can see her point, but I wouldn’t get rid of the book because of that. You can “tweak” these things by having a conversation with your kids – and school and vaccines are seen as important by the people who wrote the book. We can point out that there are other ways to give those kids access to education and health care that they just haven’t thought of.


Leave a Reply

