Friday Five – Places to Visit, Part 2

832058_no_more_no_less___.jpgLast week, we talked about our five favorite places to visit as homeschoolers.

This week, how about we talk about 5 places we’d like to visit with our kids, but we haven’t been there yet.

Here’s my list:

1) All 50 states. We’ve been to 4 states together. I personally have been to about 10. I’d like to eventually visit them all with the kids.

2) And their capitals. I don’t know why I want to do this, but I’d like to take the kids to all 50 capitals. Maybe it has to do with my obsession with lists and crossing things off. We’ve been to two so far. Sacramento and Denver.

3) Japan. My husband was born there. I’d like to visit the house where he spent his first 5 years, meet some of his Japanese relatives, and experience Japan with the kids.

4) Canada. It’s so close. Come on, we have to go. Plus, Canada just seems so cool.

5) Yellowstone national park. This is where my husband and I went on our honeymoon. We loved it there. I’d love to take the kids there (and to the Badlands, the Black Hills, and Devil’s Tower).

What about you? What is on your list of places you want to visit with your family?

7 Responses to “Friday Five – Places to Visit, Part 2”

  1. suburbancorrespondent Says:

    Canada, big time. Those national parks in Utah, especially the car-free one. Yellowstone. A driving tour of all the “Little House” sites.

  2. Sheri Says:

    Well, like you, I’d like us to visit all the Provinces and their capitals at least once. We already live in our Nation’s Capital so we’ve got that done. 😛

    I’d also love to go to Europe and tour the Castles of England, Scotland and Ireland. Because we’re all, each in our own way, interested in the medieval era that would definitely be a an ideal family vacation.

  3. Michelle Says:

    Depending on the political climate, Greece, the Holy Land and Rome. This is more likely a dream, but my mom went a few years ago and said it was fascinating.

    We spent 2 years studying the history, culture and mythology of these lands, and it would be amazing to walk there among the ruins. Just seeing coins (museums) from Rome during the time of say Nero or Caligula just sends a chill down my spine. I’d settle for the British Isles …okay I’d settle for D-land at this point 😉

  4. Karen Says:

    We live in California and drove to all the places you mentioned in #5 (Yellowstone, Badlands, Black Hills, and Devil’s Tower). It was the most AMAZING trip! Highly, highly recommended. We stayed in Custer State Park in the Black Hills after visiting Yellowstone, and although I hadn’t heard about this park before planning the trip, it turned out to be one of the highlights of the trip for us. It was just as interesting to see as Yellowstone but with different highlights. Definitely look into staying here or at least visiting for a day or two when you make it out that way.

    Another highlight of that trip for my kids were all the Junior Ranger programs the National Parks offer (they offer them for National Monuments and Battlefields, etc. too). We stumbled onto them in the first national park we went to (Grand Teton National Park). Fantastic learning experience for our three kids (ages 13, 11, and 6 at the time). They all couldn’t wait to do these and get the badges they give out when finished, and I have kids who don’t like to do any type of workbooks at home.

    As for where I’d like to go, I dream of more road trips. Would love to drive up the coast of California, and then into Oregon, Washington, and Canada.

    Want to see the trees with their leaves changing color back east.

    Go on an Alaskan cruise in June to see the beautiful glaciers and to experience a day or two (or week) with the sun barely setting.

    Swap houses with someone who lives in England.

    Go back in time (childless, of course) so I can take my husband to Rio de Janeiro without feeling guilty for not bringing the kids! (Dare I say I’d like to take a trip without my little darlings??!!)

  5. Summer Says:

    I don’t think I could narrow it down to 5. I would love to buy an RV and just drive all over the US, Canada, and Mexico. Then hop on a plane and tour Europe for a while.

  6. Kimberly Says:

    1) Greece, because it is number one on my oldest son’s list of places he wants to go.

    2) Italy, because it is DH’s first choice.

    3) Mexico. Not Tijuana or any other border towns; I’d love for us to spend 3 months somewhere small and beautiful. We’ll learn the language and absorb the culture via immersion.

    4) Japan. DH and I loved Japan, and we want to share that with our boys.

    5) The Grand Canyon. Okay, we’ve been to the Grand Canyon. We specifically want to hike to Hillside to Supai Village and visit all of the falls/pools. It’s a trip I did when I was 13. Bright Angel is so accessible and almost everyone goes down the canyon via that trail. I was so lucky to get to go to the reservation and spend a week in a part of the canyon that isn’t as accessible.

  7. Fairly Odd Mother Says:

    (I’ve just had to revise my list to remove the ones I haven’t been to yet!)

    Japan: I would love to go here and spend some time.

    Ditto with France. I could even use my terrible French I learned way back in school! I keep hoping my husband’s company will transfer him here for a year or two so we can go along with him.

    India.

    And, to go along with what we’ve been learning this year: Egypt, Greece and Rome.

    I guess I’d better get over this hatred of flying!


Leave a Reply

