CA Homeschooling Gets More Support from Education Departments

527555_newspapers__2.jpgHomeschoolers Give Courts Bad Marks

“My feeling is very much in line with the governor in that it is a parental choice as to how they will educate their children,” said Chris Bertelli, assistant secretary of education. “To require a credential for a parent that is home-schooling is ludicrous.”

He’s quoted later to say:

“No other state in the country requires a credential,” Bertelli said. “It would be nearly impossible to enforce and would do so much more damage than good.”

Chris Bertelli is a CA Assistant Secretary of Education. This quote is good news for CA homeschoolers. Of course, it doesn’t mean we can all go on vacation now. He’s just one of the many people who work with David Long (CA Secretary of Education) and Arnold Schwarzenegger. But it does mean that we might not have to fight as hard as we might have otherwise, because not only is the is our governor and his crew openly supporting homeschooling, we are also on the same page about the value of teaching credentials for homeschooling parents.

It also quotes the director of student support services for the LA County Dept. of Education:

“As long as they are a private school registered with the state then as far as we are concerned they are a legal home school,” said Victor Thompson, director of student support service for the L.A. County Department of Education.

I’m not sure why they talked to Victor Thompson, or how they found him to interview. I couldn’t find him anywhere on the internet. Maybe they called the LA Dept. of Education and he’s who they got. I hope that his opinion reflects the entire LA public school position. Again, not because it will actually change anything, but because it will make our future efforts less difficult if we have a good number of large education departments sharing common positions with us.

4 Responses to “CA Homeschooling Gets More Support from Education Departments”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Tammy, love your blog. Recommend it often.
    I took a quick look around LACOE’s website and found Victor under Educational Services Management and Staff:
    http://www.lacoe.edu/orgs/118/index.cfm?ModuleId=3&StaffId=3098
    Should we send him a thank you note?

  2. Tammy Says:

    Thank you Jenny! I don’t know why I couldn’t find it. I guess my internet-fu is unworthy today.

    I thought about sending him a note. What do you think?

  3. Michelle Says:

    Hi Tammy,

    I bow down to a master blogger! When my blog grows up, it wants to be like yours. 😀

    So I have one ds (13) in the OCDE ISP program (((I know…feel free to taunt me.)))) and one dd at a private ISP (15). Have hs’d my 13 y/o for 3 years and this is my 15’s first year…Best decision ever! During the ruling uproar, the principal at my son’s program made some interpretations that…well let’s just say my eyes got really big… so I am going to PSA next year (that sounds so tire pressure or measure of acidity). I am wondering what my district’s response to a PSA will be and to my withdrawal of my son from the OCDE program. My district is starting their own isp program and they are not the friendliest to deal with, I know…hard to believe. Since you have your feelers out, do you think we will see issues at the district level (truancy etc…) due to funding deficits with the budget damage? or do they tend to follow suit with Sacramento? I am having visions of the sheriff being fine, but the deputy being rogue.

    This info is hard to find, so I will consider you my Drudgereport of homeschooling 😉

    Michelle

  4. Jenny Says:

    Yes, let’s send him thank you notes for his support. I’m sure that opinions like his within the state education system and within upper levels of state government helped convince the Court of Appeal to vacate its ruling yesterday.


Leave a Reply

