One Homeschooler’s Socialization

867648_jumping_over_waves.jpgThis morning I told my children what our plans were for the day. Here is part of the conversation:

“Kids, we’re going to the museum. Our friends Joe and Sam will be there.”

“YAY!” they shouted. And all three of my children threw their arms in the air and hopped around.

“Also,” I added, “there’s going to be another family there. They have two kids. I don’t remember if the kids are your age, though.”

Cameron, who is 9 1/2, turned to me and said, “It doesn’t matter how old they are, Mom. We can still make friends.”

I smiled. I guess I still have some deschooling to do.

7 Responses to “One Homeschooler’s Socialization”

  1. shansgazette Says:

    That is sooooooo cool! I always like to sit back and watch how social my homeschooled kids are. They don’t care about ages or skin color just about making friends and having fun. Keep up the good work !
    Shan

  2. Lizabeth Says:

    Right on! That’s the way it goes, though. These kids totally know how to relate to people. It’s the single most amazing thing that has always impressed me about homeschoolers.

  3. Summer Says:

    That is so cool!

  4. momlovesbeingathome Says:

    That’s one of the things I love most about homeschooling – my kids will hang out with kids of any age. One of the families that we love to hang out with has four kids – a girl age 6, a boy age 9, a girl age 13, and a boy age 15. My son, who is 12, and my daughter, who is 15, LOVE to hang out with this family and they all six get along really well! Homeschooling kids aren’t concerned about how old a kid is – they’re just concerned about whether or not they have fun with them! 😉

  5. Kimberly Says:

    So brilliantly said, by the 9 1/2 year old.


Leave a Reply

