Songs by Geniuses Who Didn’t Belong in School

935615_concert.jpgAs we all know, school isn’t the best match for those who are highly creative. It’s no wonder, then, that many songs by talented artists express criticism of school. People of genius, and that includes musicians, don’t belong in school.

I was listening to some Paul Simon today, who is undoubtedly a musical genius, and heard this song, called Kodachrome.

Kodachrome – Words & music by Paul Simon

When I think back
On all the crap I learned in high school
It’s a wonder
I can think at all
And though my lack of edu—cation
Hasn’t hurt me none
I can read the writing on the wall

Kodachrome
They give us those nice bright colors
They give us the greens of summers
Makes you think all the worlds a sunny day, oh yeah
I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So mama don’t take my kodachrome away

If you took all the girls I knew
When I was single
And brought them all together for one night
I know theyd never match
My sweet imagination
And everything looks worse in black and white

Kodachrome
They give us those nice bright colors
They give us the greens of summers
Makes you think all the worlds a sunny day, oh yeah
I got a Nikon camera
I love to take a photograph
So mama don’t take my kodachrome away

I wonder though, if kids of genius aren’t forced to go to school, where will they place their creative angst? And what would they write about? Perhaps geniuses need something to rebel against, to ignite that passionate spirit and to create amazing works of art? What do you think? Can a comfortable and happy genius still create inspired works of art?

StumbleUpon Toolbar Stumble It!

6 Responses to “Songs by Geniuses Who Didn’t Belong in School”

  1. Summer Says:

    I think there are enough things going on to fuel that rebelious angst, things that are far more important than high school. Imagine if all those creative rebels were exposed to real world politics rather than the politics of social cliques in the hallways, what kid of songs they would have created.

  2. April Says:

    I agree with Summer. There is enough craziness, injustice and lunacy in the world to inspire(?) a planet full of geniuses without adding the vapidity of high school, or even more-so, Junior High. ACK!

  3. Angela Says:

    And let me add my ditto, ditto.

    And from my own personal experience, though I don’t claim genius, I know I create far better from a place of joy than a place of angst.

  4. On Living By Learning Says:

    Sure they can! Check out my creative genius daughter’s latest work of art, My Need to Pee at http://elferkid.blogspot.com/2008/02/my-need-to-pee.html

    Alright, maybe I need to move her back into public school so she can be oppressed. LOL

    P.S. I’m digging the way cool graphics!

  5. Sheri Says:

    I think we are conditioned to see real art as an example of only the angst part of the human condition.

    I think if enough artists rebeled against this notion instead of buying into it and started to create only from experiences of joy and contentment it would turn the “artworld” on it’s ear.

    And lift humanity up instead of encouraging it to wallow. Just MHO.

  6. sunniemom Says:

    Check out the plots of Entertainment Weekly’s 50 Best High School Movies at http://www.filmsite.org/50besthsfilms.html

    Ditto Sheri- I’d rather stick a fork in my eye than submit my children to the kind of garbage I had to put up with in high school. Angst is highly overrated. Happy people produce uplifting artistic offerings, and the chronically melancholy produce alot of whiny, self-absorbed tripe.


Leave a Reply

