What’s On Your Browser Tab?

As a habit, I pile up pages on my Firefox tabs to be read when I have the time. Often, I’d like to share those links with you. But then, time passes, and I get busy, and close them, unable to do them justice.

I’m going to share some of them with you so I can close them and move on.

Space for Commerce blog discusses online schooling. I am a fan of online/virtual schools. Between online schools and charter schools, we’re actually seeing some significant change in public schools. Whether these two options are the “right” way to go, is uncertain. What I do know, is that they are creating their own internal competition, which will force the “regular” public schools to do something to keep up. As it relates to homeschooling, bah, I won’t get into that. Anyway, this is a good commentary. I love when non-homeschoolers understand that homeschooling and other alternative forms of education are good for our country.

Momlovesbeingathome sings the praises of Paperback Book Swap. She sold me on it. I joined too. Now I’m even more inspired to read the books in my piles, so that I can list them on my book swap page. I’m going to need a bookcase just for may PBS books, instead of sending them to the library.

Schoolless has a post about Learning to Bend. She has some great examples of how she has moved from “carefully laid plans” to inspired learning with her kiddos.

Unschooling Voices #12. I haven’t read through all the entries yet. I hope I can before the next one comes out! How long does it take you to read through a carnival?

The Cates at Why Homeschool offer their own plan for our country’s educational system. Great ideas there, although it’s a little frustrating to me because it’s just a mental game we’re playing by even talking about it. I suppose, though, that change has to start somewhere, and who knows when it’ll be a blog that changes things?

That’s it for now (well, I have other tabs, but they aren’t education related). Do you have a bunch of tabs up on your browser?

5 Responses to “What’s On Your Browser Tab?”

  1. momlovesbeingathome Says:

    Tammy, thanks for the link! I got the e-mail from paperback swap about the buddy list before I saw this and at first I couldn’t figure out who was asking me to be their buddy! 😆 Once I really looked at your name (and then I saw your blog link 😉 ) I figured out it was you! 🙂 Anyway, glad you like the idea of the club. I’ve been in it for over a year now and have been able to get a bunch of great books! I’ve also lightened the load of books that I had and didn’t need anymore. 😉

  2. Tammy Says:

    Thanks for pointing me to it! I already got my first book request after listing only 4 books. It’s great how I only need to print out the label to mail it. I don’t have to find a box or anything. Smart people figured that out. 🙂

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Mental exercises are good for the brain cells. I remember reading about a bunch of fellows getting together and discussing just how much they hated sending their raw resources back to England and being forced to buy the finished products at exorbitant prices. And the Stamp Act. How much they hated the Stamp Act. Come to think of it, this taxation without representation bit was irritating too. (Although I learned later and certainly NOT from school, that this last complaint was puzzling to most of Britain because most of Britain had always been governed that way. The interesting tidbits they leave out of textbooks…!) Change starts in the darnedest places and nobody knows exactly what the spark will be that will light the place up…er, illuminate the situation ;).

  4. Karen Says:

    Paperbackswap. I haven’t visited a library nor hardly a bookstore since I discovered Paperbackswap. My budget certainly liked it!

  5. momlovesbeingathome Says:

    I’ve had lots of book requests too. In fact, a lot of the books I want aren’t posted right now so I keep adding them to my wish list but the books I have keep getting requested so I have like 30 credits right now just waiting to be used!! 🙂 It really is fun!


Leave a Reply

