Yoga and Homeschooling

Homeschoolers are a busy bunch. It’s sometimes hard to find time to fit in exercise and to find quiet time. Yoga, to me, is the perfect blend of the two.

But I’ve always had trouble finding time for classes. They are a 2-hour commitment and it means going when I can find a sitter for the kids, or my husband is home. Trying to get that to work three or four times a week – impossible.

Then today, while poking around the internet, I found YogaToday, a website that offers a free, 1-hour long class everyday. I tried out a video this morning, and it was top-notch quality.

I used to teach yoga, so I’m picky. The class I did today met my high expectations. They offered solutions for beginners, more advanced versions for experienced yoga practitioners, and explanations about what the different positions and exercises do for the body.

I am really excited about this find. It’s perfect for my busy homeschooling schedule, and I don’t have to find a sitter. Above all, it’s free.

And the can join in too, if they want.

Hope you like it too, so we can support the website and keep those free classes available.

Namaste

11 Responses to “Yoga and Homeschooling”

  1. Chessia Says:

    Hi there,

    THANK YOU THANK YOU! what a GREAT piece of advice. I am a student, so there is NO way I can afford to go to yoga classes all week long, but I really love it and need an instructor. Its great becuase you can do it any time of day I gather. If you are totally satisfied with the online classes, thats great, but I have been working with the New York Kids Club recently, and it might be a great place to ltake your kids if you want to take real yoga classes in the city. There are 4 NY Kids Club locations so it is really convenient, and a slew of classes you can sign your kids up for-the classes range from cooking, rock climbing, martial arts, gymnastics, music making, and many more for kids 6 months-12 yrs. The winter/spring semester sign up date is Jan. 21, so not much time, but you can check out the website at http://www.nykidsclub.com. I thought it might be a good fitness option for the whole fam. Anyway, THANK YOU again for this website, I have been looking for something just like it.

  2. Sheri Says:

    Since you were once an instructor, maybe you can explain this.

    The only time I ever tried Yoga was with a friend and we attended a 60 minute class.

    At first I felt awkward and unsure but thought I’d get over it…I didn’t. By the end of the class I was frustrated, angry and on the verge of tears.

    The instructor assured me that it was okay and that I should just go home and have a hot bath, preferably with some epson salts.

    But I was still so upset that I, very literally, wanted to punch my friend for doing that to me…I never tried Yoga again.

    Was 60 minutes the first time too much?

  3. Tammy Says:

    Chessia – thanks for the suggestion! I’ll check it out.

    Sheri – I doubt that 60 minutes was too much. My guess was that the class or the instructor weren’t a good fit for you. There are many kinds of yoga. Also, many levels. And lastly, not all instructors are able to spot students who are having trouble and give them assistance. If you are interested in trying again, I would suggest a Hatha restorative class. Also, let your instructor know that you didn’t have a comfortable experience the first time, and if you have any joints that hurt or are very tight. There is always a way to modify yoga, and to offer alternative moves.

    On the other hand, sometimes, yoga just isn’t a good fit. When I first tried yoga, I didn’t like it at all. It took me a while to ease into it through pilates.

    Hope that helps!

  4. Laureen Says:

    Hey Sheri!

    FWIW, I have taken very few yoga classes. Yoga was recommended to me as something to help deal with emotional stress, since the body stores stress and trauma.

    Thank goodness for home practice. There have been times where I ease into a pose, and burst into tears, suddenly want to punch something, etc etc etc. I stay there until it passes, breathing the yuck out. I spent like half an hour in one particular hip-opening pose once, sobbing like a baby. The pose wasn’t painful; there was just something emotional going on.

    I can’t imagine being able to really experience that in a class; how embarrassing! But over a few years of dilligent practice, not only am I overall healthier physically, but those “landmines” don’t come up any more. But they were very, very real at the beginning.

    FWIW, YMMV

  5. Summer Says:

    Ohhh, will have to bookmark that site. I have wanted to do yoga forever, but never had the time or a baby sitter. I have a short children’s yoga tape that we watch together on the mornings it is too cold to go out, but I’v wanted something more adult. Of course I’ve still got to fit an hour itno the day, but at least at home i don’t need a sitter. LOL Thanks for sharing the site!

  6. Sheri Says:

    Thanks Tammy – any input at all helps, I appreciate it.

    Laureen – Thanks for sharing that…makes me feel a lot better.
    I thought at first I was losing my marbles.

    Uh, don’t want to sound like a dork but I don’t know what FWIW or YMMV mean…hehe.

  7. Tammy Says:

    Sheri – FWIW= For what it’s worth and YMMV = Your mileage may vary

  8. Sheri Says:

    Hehehe, okay, thanks Tammy. See, if you don’t ask, you don’t learn. And I never would have figured them out on my own…I did try though. 😛

  9. Chessia Says:

    Hi Tammy,

    I hope you enjoyed checking out the NY Kids Club-I just wanted to remind you that today is the last day to sign up for winter/spring classes, so if you want in, get in!

    Laureen-thanks for the definitions, i had no idea either. Those are some pretty complicated initials!

  10. Valerie Says:

    Thanks for the link, Tammy. I’ve got it bookmarked. 🙂

  11. Picture this! Busy week Says:

    […] got inspired and finally pulled the old yoga book off the shelf. Perfect for mornings too cold to go […]


Leave a Reply

