Reading Homeschooling Mom’s Blogs

I read a comment today on metafilter that if anyone wants to get a good glimpse of the real lives of American women, he should read homeschooling mom’s blogs.

If you think about it, there are indeed a lot of homeschooling mom blogs out there. Are there a lot of working mom blogs? Stay at home school mom blogs? I’m not sure, since I don’t read that circle of blogs all that much. Do homeschooling moms own a huge chunk of the momblogosphere?

I’d also guess, that out of all the blogging dads out there, homeschool dads have high percentage of virtual real estate as well.

7 Responses to “Reading Homeschooling Mom’s Blogs”

  1. Dana Says:

    Hmm…interesting question. I read in a recent BlogHer newsletter that morning television has seen a 10% drop in viewership because women were blogging in increasing numbers.

    I suppose that is neither here nor there, but I found it interesting. BlogHer itself is a fairly large network, and I’d say with relatively few homeschooling moms. I don’t know that this is at all representative.

  2. Tammy Says:

    Dana, good point. That is a big network, and very few are homeschoolers. I have an account there. I should read over there more often to stay in the loop.

    I hope you’re having a happy new year’s eve! We’re setting up Rock Band for our get together we’re having for friends and neighbors. We’re going to try to rope them into singing for us. 😛

  3. parentingpit Says:

    Uncanny… i was just thinking about this today. I was speculating that because homeschooling parents hang out with their children more than other parents, maybe we have greater needs for expression/ connection/ release/ understanding/ networking that a blog can potentially bring.

    I dont often look for or at non homeschooling blogs so its hard to see the wood from the trees… interesting to hear of some stats on it.

    Tammy – i hope you and your local community rock out and have a wonderful new years. Our new years was a day or so before you (here in austraia). Hmmm… does that mean i can tell you what happens tomorrow? Brain hurting… better go.

  4. Ami Says:

    I read a lot of blogs. Until I read this, I hadn’t really thought too much about it. For me, it’s just wanting to connect with people who think along the same lines as I do. With my limited sampling of blogs and knowing several homeschoolers, my sincere belief is that most of us are more passionate, more articulate, and more outspoken than some. 🙂

    (Not that I am, of course. Quite demure and polite, that’s me)

    I think I’d take it a step further… for someone to get a glimpse of the real life of the American PEOPLE, one could do worse than reading lots of blogs.

  5. Tammy Says:

    arun – thank you, and happy new year to you too 🙂

    Ami – or maybe we have more time on our hands? 😛 And I agree, there are certainly worse ways to see into American culture than through blogs.

  6. Karen Joy Says:

    Hm. I’d never thought about that — about most mom-blogs being from homeschoolers.

    Most blogs I’ve seen from women have a particular point, like infertility, organic gardening, crafting, specific diets, and, of course, homeschooling. Plus, just about every other niche topic of which you could possibly think. As far as a “niche” goes, homeschooling is a pretty big one, and many hs’ers simply like to network — from co-ops to P.E. at the park, to curriculum-specific forums, and now, to blogs. I think blogging is a natural extension of a hs’ing mom’s desire to see what’s up, what’s new, etc., in the hs’ing community, w/o leaving home. 🙂

    A good 80% of the blogs I read are from homeschoolers, but then, that’s what I’m interested in.

  7. Stacie Says:

    Interesting. I’m a homeschooling mom and I just started a homeschooling blog.


Leave a Reply

