Not All Homeschoolers Support Ron Paul and Mike Huckabee

Ron Paul and Mike Huckabee have been in the news quite a bit, pandering appealing to homeschoolers. Now, I am not uniformly against either candidate. They do have some interesting perspectives. However, one thing I know for sure, they are not “the homeschoolers’ candidate”. There is no such thing. Period.

Homeschoolers are not a unified front politically. We don’t even agree even on fundamental educational ideas.

Doc is for Hillary. She made a button. She encourages everyone to make their own button. Show the world that homeschoolers aren’t all the same.

That’s an important lesson for anyone new to homeschooling – even if it our local groups indicate otherwise, we are not homogeneous. We are an incredibly diverse group of people. I was surprised in the beginning. And sometimes I’m still surprised by the variety in opinions, perspectives and practices of our nation’s and world’s homeschoolers.

So, it’s not at all surprising to me that not every homeschooler is in support of Paul and Huckabee. In fact, I would be disappointed if we all agreed on one candidate, simply because he allegedly is taking the homeschoolers’ side. There’s a lot to think about. A lot more than whether or not the presidential candidate wants to give me and 1% of other Americans a tax cut, or even recognition. There’s a lot more to what a president does. Homeschoolers, with such a diverse range of perspectives on money, government, social security, the war, oil, the budget, health insurance, and many other political topics, shouldn’t be agreeing with one another. It means we aren’t thinking if we all agree.

And that’s one thing I can say for sure – we’re thinkers. If we weren’t, we wouldn’t have made the decision to go against the grain and homeschool in the first place.

Update: Here’s a list of other blogs on the same topic.

11 Responses to “Not All Homeschoolers Support Ron Paul and Mike Huckabee”

  1. Heather Says:

    I had someone mention to me recently if we were for Huckabee since we homeschool. Picking a president to me is important and I wouldn’t base voting for a candidate just because he/she says they are for homeschooling. Edwards supposedly has his kids homeschooled. Tutored probably.

    Homeschoolers are unique. I have yet to meet a fellow homeschool family that homeschools and has a family just like ours.

  2. Anna Says:

    There is no way on God’s earth that I could vote for either of them. I would actively campaign against both.

  3. sunniemom Says:

    I think it is most important to ascertain a candidate’s attitude toward the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, and how they stand on the issues points to that, so one can’t intelligently decide on a candidate on *one* issue.

    There is one thing I think ALL homeschoolers can agree on- the inherent and sacred right of the parents to direct their childrens’ education.

  4. Crimson Wife Says:

    I don’t particularly like *ANY* of the candidates on either side. While there are qualities I like about certain of them, each one has at least 1 serious concern in my book. I don’t know whom I’m going to vote for 😦

  5. Laureen Says:

    Sometimes, I wonder if this ridiculously early campaigning isn’t designed to give Americans the opportunity to hate each other’s guts earlier than ever before.

    I am completely insulted at the very thought that because I choose to teach my kids, that I could even consider being in electoral lockstep for that choice.

    Some people really, deeply, profoundly just don’t get it.

  6. sunniemom Says:

    In my never to be humble opinion, I think all this hype is just media manipulation. The media never seems to portray ‘the family’ or ‘motherhood’ in a good light, especially those who are religious, those who homeschool, and horror-of-horrors, those who are religious AND homeschool.

    If the media can make it appear that mostly religious homeschooling kooks are endorsing a candidate, then by proxy the candidate is a religious kook who is trying to dismantle the precious public education system. The media isn’t interested in reporting the diversity of homeschooling, because it doesn’t support their agenda.

    The recipe for modern journalism is one pound of agenda per ounce of fact sugarcoated with a layer of personality.

  7. Homeschoolers For Huckabee … Not « Homeschoolers For … Says:

    […] Tammy at Just Enough and Nothing More: Not All Homeschoolers Support Ron Paul and Mike Huckabee […]

  8. Tammy Says:

    Heather – I agree. Have you noticed, though, how much homeschooling is being *mentioned* in the presidential race? That’s an interesting fact in and of itself, don’tcha think?

    Anna – Really, why so shy? Tell us how you really feel 🙂 I would prefer not to vote for either, as well. But, so much can happen between now and Nov. I don’t want to say who I’m going to vote for (or not) just yet.

    Sunniemom – That’s a tough demand of our country’s president. 🙂 And about your second comment – the media does take every opportunity to make things into black/white extreme emotional string-pulling. It’s not even about what they support, or don’t… but what they can get ratings for, pure and simple.

    Crimson Wife – I’m with you on that.

    Laureen – Oh boy, ain’t that the truth?

  9. Joanna Says:

    I’m a homeschooled homeschooler. I bring this up because I remember what it is like to not have the freedom to homeschool like we do now. No going anywhere during school hours for MY childhood. No fun, I can tell you!

    I’m voting for Ron Paul. His voting record has never once wavered in his protection for homeschooler’s rights. That is what does it for me. Not his “talk” or “pandering”.

    I thought about Huckabee but he did not help homeschoolers at all while he was Governor. He signed legislation that hurt them quite a bit in his state. As for Romney, he sounds good too but he is so wishy washy about so many issues. That sets off alarm bells as well.

    But I have to say, that it is actually quite encouraging to me that we live in a time where presidential candidates actually consider homeschoolers as a group of voting importance.

  10. Sheri Says:

    As a Canadian, this dialogue has been very interesting.

    I live in Ontario where the “rights” of homeschoolers is legislated and very well supported by organizations like the Ontario Federation of Teaching Parents and others like it.

    But these are provincial groups, not under any federal umbrella as it were and as far as I know, there is still no federal mandate in Canada that recognizes what most provinces already independently do, that it’s a parent’s right to freely choose how to educate their children.

    And certainly it’s never been an active issue for any of our federal elections.

    Glad to see it’s happening somewhere.

  11. John Says:

    There are all kinds of people who homeschool, but please seriously consider Ron Paul. As far as I can tell, he seems so so much better than any of the other candidates. In fact, it is hard for me to imagine what objection anyone would have to his candidacy in light of everything he says and his lengthy voting record.

    Crimson Mom says she has serious concerns about Paul, and Anna says she would actively campaign against him. Neither gave any specifics. As stated, I can’t imagine what they have in mind, but I will give you my biggest reservation about Ron Paul:

    He advocates an immediate withdrawal from Iraq. Overall, I can’t see why anyone would disagree with his overall position that the US should avoid meddling in the affairs of other nations and go to war (only) with a declaration of war from the congress, and furthermore, that we should try to engage foreign nations in a positive way, setting a good example and attracting them to our unique political system (if we can restore something that resembles what the founders set up). What bothers me is the fact that he seems to ignore the committments the US has made to other nations like Iraq and Afghanastan. What will be the consequences for the people there if we just drop everything and come home? I suppose his argument is that many people are suffering from our present activity which was misguided and that the consequences might be less than expected. This seems to me to be a bit of a weak answer. I am certainly willing to agree that Bush’s strategy was misguided, but if we made a mistake, then it’s our mistake and I’m inclined to think that we need to take more responsibility for it than Ron Paul is suggesting.

    On the other hand, it should be noted that no one at the time was advocating anything that seemed to make any more sense than Bush. It seemed that he, at least, wanted to do something helpful both to us and to them. At least, I didn’t hear anyone suggesting anything truly different (or at least better—unless you think Clinton’s policy of lobbing cruise missiles every now and then at his political convenience was a good thing), and I think that if you look into it, you’ll have to give Ron Paul credit for truly doing that. He is saying something different. And I suppose he was saying the same thing at the time. We should, at least on some level (or at least outwardly), treat these people with respect, unless we are going to declare war on them, and win that war.

    And maybe Ron Paul is right, and the best thing for everyone would be to start over moving in a better direction, but I’m not sure about that. What is for sure is that none of the others are saying anything new or that seems really desirable, as far as I can tell.

    I suppose I’ve written too much, but it would be interesting to know what your concerns about Ron Paul are, and what would make you campaign against him (specifically). The government of this country was a really new kind of thing at the time, and I think the basic ideas behind it have served many generations well, though we have lost much if not most of our foundation. The constitution and bill of rights are mostly about restricting the activities of the federal government…just think about that. Read them, and then think about all the current activities of the federal government. It is not just because we homeschool, but in so doing, we must, I would think, be recognizing that we as individuals are better off taking care of a very important thing (educating our children) rather than leaving it to anyone else. In a relative sense (I’m not saying he’s perfect or that I know about all the candidates, butt…), it seems to me that to support any candidate other than Ron Paul is to continue the current direction of more government control. Why do you want that?


Leave a Reply

