The Joy of Getting Side-tracked

Because I apparently don’t have anything to do, I decided to try and learn how to set up my professional website. It’s taking a lot of brain power to do this. And because I am doing this, I can so relate to my kids when they get sucked into a project or research, and just can’t be pulled away.

I’ve been looking up themes, learning how to write in .php (WordPress language), reviewing how to use Unix, trying to figure out what I can even do…and getting sucked in. I almost forgot to make dinner and my husband had to read the kids their bedtime stories.

After a couple of hours, I’m not done with my research, but I got a good chunk of it done. Enough to be able to sleep tonight. Enough to let it go for a while so I can do the other things I’m supposed to be doing.

It’s funny how things like that just sweep me up when I least expect it, and I just HAVE to know more. I can’t go on without figuring it out. I can’t concentrate on anything else until I at least get a rudimentary handle on it.

I can relate to when my kids are engrossed in something for hours on end. Full of passion to figure things out and make things happen. I can relate to how that drive is so innate in all of us. And how important it is to let it happen, even when it’s not “supposed to”. (Like I’m supposed to be working on a certain book right now, not relearning HTML.) I may not have been working on what I was “supposed” to, but I feel SO alive right now. And ready to move on to the other things I’m supposed to do with renewed vigor.

When was the last time you experienced that pull to just keep learning, doing, experiencing? That feeling that nobody can stop you until you figure out the answer or to make something work? How did it make you feel? Do you see it in your kids?

4 Responses to “The Joy of Getting Side-tracked”

  1. Sheri Says:

    Actually, just a couple of weeks ago I got hung up on designing and building my own board game. For some reason I couldn’t focus on anything else and I kept at it until I had a working model that we could play.

    All the beta testers (Hubby, Daughter and Her Two Friends) love it.

    Unfortunately the motivation didn’t spill over into what I “should” be doing (getting ready for Christmas). 😛

  2. candaceclayton100 Says:

    Hey Tammy! Its candace from HEWG! Just thought I would pop in and say hi.

  3. annamaren Says:

    I think the ability to get tangled up and engrossed in a particular thing that both sustains me and haunts me!

    I guess it is the hallmark of true geekery- this digression that pulls you into another world where what you are doing is so deeply and utterly fascinating.

    I feel like I could talk for ages about this way of working with learning- I guess it’s because I feel so drawn to it myself…… it’s often how I work within so much of my life. I wish my high-school had catered better for it, it’s what I loved about college, it’s what I hope to foster in my children- the willingness to be sidetracked and emerge yourself into some mysterious new well of knowledge….

    (OK, on the other hand, I need to work on balance too. Because after all my children need to eat no matter if I have discovered a new piece of Bach I adore and must perfect.)

  4. Colleen Says:

    That happened to me when I started my blog. It was good timing, actually, since it coincided with my son’s newly allowed unlimited time on the computer. So, both of us were at our computers all day. I was learning html. He was discovering all kinds of new sites and games. It was really fun and I was grateful for the comparison between my own learning on the computer and my son’s. I may have had a much harder time accepting his amount of time spent on the computer (and it was hard, believe me!) if I hadn’t been spending so much time on it–and learning so much from it– myself.


Leave a Reply

