Hubby Back from London = Quiet Days on My Blog

Hubby came back Saturday after being gone for a week in Europe. Needless to say, my blog was a lower priority for the past couple of days. <BEG>

Well, now that our reunion is over, life is back to normal.

Wait, what does that mean again? Normal? I forget.

How about you guys? Do your hubbies (or other form of significant other) go away for extended periods of time? Do you keep your lives pretty much the same during their absense? How does it effect the family when he/she comes home?

4 Responses to “Hubby Back from London = Quiet Days on My Blog”

  1. Anna Says:

    I am much better organized when Chris is not around b/c I know I have someone to pick up the slack. When he is gone, we are pretty rigid with routines. If everyone is not in bed on time, I get quite nasty. I keep our days filled so that we do not mess up the house because I know I cannot keep up.

    When he comes home, I expect immediate re-entry and to get a break from the kids. As happy as I am to see him, I usually take off for a few hours.

  2. Christian Says:

    I thought you might find the below site interesting – assuming you haven’t already seen it. I was pleasantly surprised at just how much information there is:

    http://www.hslda.org/docs/study/rudner1999/FullText.asp

  3. Tammy Says:

    Christian,

    Have you seen this one?

    http://nces.ed.gov/pubs2001/HomeSchool/

    I’m not going to even begin to go over why the Bob Jones study is not a very accurate slice of the 2007 (almost 2008) homeschooling community across the entire US. It’s one of the few studies out there, so it gets quoted a lot. But that doesn’t make it necessarily accurate. So, if you are going to use this study, make sure you are aware of its limitations.

    BTW, for those of you who are wondering why he linked this to me – Christian is writing a paper, posted it on his blog, and I made some suggestions on how he find out more about the realities of modern homeschooling life.

    As a side note, although statistics are interesting, and the NCES study is probably the most accurate considering its methods – it still doesn’t give a fair description of homeschoolers. For many reasons. Perhaps I’ll post about that sometimes.

    The best way to find out about what homeschoolers “are like” is to 1) talk to them personally in an inclusive setting 2) talk to the people who talk to them (like group leaders, conference coordinators, magazine editors, e-list moderators, etc.) and 3) do a little searching around the internet. In my estimation, there’s at least 3-4 distinct “kinds” of homeschoolers with a billion different in-between “kinds” of homeschoolers. So, if we base our assumptions on a person (or group of people) who is in one of those distinct groups, and nobody else, you’re going to get a very skewed version of who homeschoolers are. This is true in any demographic.

    Anyway, thanks for the link. Good luck with your paper.

  4. Tammy Says:

    Ah! I knew there were more recent numbers. The NHERI is another source of research info. In my estimation, it’s more accurate. I’m not sure of his research methods, however, so that does give me pause. I couldn’t find it easily on my quick search around his site. Anyone else know more about this?
    http://www.nheri.org/content/view/199/


Leave a Reply

