Homeschoolers in Maryland – What the H-E-Double Hockey Sticks Is Going On?

There is legislation on the table in Maryland that would take parents to court and force them to vaccinate their children for CHICKEN POX and HEPATITIS B, or else they are going to be put in jail.

I’m on the fence about vaccinations. But this just ruffles my tail feathers. This is not polio we’re talking about. Or measles and mumps. This is chicken pox and Hep B.

Where are the checks and balances for the power of the “health” department? Did the people who work in the health department miss their classes on critical thinking and American civics? Who is really pushing this legislation? Maryland – please tell me this is being overhyped and it’s not as bad as it seems.

Update: Here’s a website with information about how you can take action.

4 Responses to “Homeschoolers in Maryland – What the H-E-Double Hockey Sticks Is Going On?”

  1. Anna Says:

    Aaaaaaah!!! Oh, this just toasts my cheese. My kids are familiar with the steps of the statehouse for many reasons. This would be another.

    God as my witness, I would move.

  2. Sunnymom Says:

    Typical attitude of big gov’t proponents- parents are merely breeders while ‘the professionals’ make all the *important* decisions. Obviously you cannot trust the health and well-being of children to…to…to parents!?! And education? Why- you must have a master’s degree in block stacking to properly educate children!

    Sorry- my posting gears are stuck in Facetious.

  3. Alison Says:

    My impression is that the hullabaloo applied to parents who have not jumped through the hoops — either by vaccinating or by applying for an exemption. Still, it’s enormously heavy handed.

    Enjoying your blog!

  4. Christian Says:

    Thank you very much for your critique of my homeschooling paper; your comments are very insightful and more in-depth than anything by my professor (thankfully, I don’t think my paper will be graded so thoroughly). I’d really like to hear more about the incorrect statements I make, that would be very helpful. As someone who has been homeschooled for the last twelve years, I thought I was pretty accurate.

    I also realize I need to clarifiy that much of this paper is based on personal experience and not merely assumptions- your comments are actually the second today to lead me to this realization.

    Finally, the NEA actually used the word “believe” in their resolution. Perhaprs I should clarify that as well.

    Again, thank you for the critique; I appreciate that you took the time not only to read my article, but to respond.


Leave a Reply

