Homeschoolers Miss Out and Homeschooling Stress

I made a book-length comment on the Transforming Life Center blog today, so I thought I’d post it over here too. Are you stressed or missing out? What do you think about my “over-achiever” comment? Also, if you comment on the blog, be nice. Thanks 🙂

This entry has been moved. Read the rest at the new Just Enough Blog.

8 Responses to “Homeschoolers Miss Out and Homeschooling Stress”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Well, you said it just about as well as I think it can be said. And so very nicely, too. Thanks for speaking up for the middle-ground (majority) of homeschoolers who are just doing what is right for their family, right now.

  2. Anna Says:

    It is all opportunity cost isn’t it? Guns or butter. (Welcome to Econ 101 LOL) I often think about what I am missing by homeschooling, but then I think of what I would miss by pursuing those things.

    As for the overachievers…I am not one of those right now, but I have been. I think what happens when I get stressed is that I am trying to meet the needs of EVERYONE at the same time. I have to remember that part of what I am teaching are important life skills. Learning that you cannot be all things to all people without wanting to put a bullet in your head is a really important lesson.

    I also am stressed because I am too lazy today to clean up my kitchen. I hate a cluttered kitchen, but not enough to walk away from the computer…

    I posted a response at Open Path.

  3. Karen Joy Says:

    I posted a response there, too, Tammy.

    I don’t think I’m an over-achiever; I am an anti-keeping-up-with-the-Joneses, either my neighbors or former schoolmates, or other homeschoolers. Big deal that your daughter is marrying a doctor. Big deal that your 2nd grader is doing 4th grade math. However, I AM stressed out sometimes, but it’s not the school part. It’s the fitting-it-all-in part.

    By “fitting it all in,” I mean the school, the “regular” mothering, being a wife, being a friend, keeping a semi-tidy house and clean clothes in the closets, getting out on my own for coffee and journal writing, reading a novel, whatever. I LOVE my entire life, but sometimes, I worry that I’m not doing any of it (except the school!) adequately. I feel spread a little thin. But, I’d rather hire a maid than give up homeschooling. I haven’t done that, but I’ve been dreaming about it!!

    Still, though, I’m trying to take a longer view on the whole thing. It’s just a season. And, I have certainly (like you said) seen MORE regular-school moms who are stressed out than hs’ing moms. You’re just trading one stress for another. I’ll take the stresses I have — the ones of too many blessings — rather than theirs, thankyouverymuch!

  4. More reasons to homeschool « Only Sometimes Clever Says:

    […] Nonverbal Learning Disorder, Parenting, The Kids — Karen Joy @ 2:15 pm Through Tammy’s blog, I found a post from a non-homeschooler, which (to her credit) was not crazy-anti-homeschooling.  […]

  5. Tara Says:

    Well, we are literally in the middle of this one right now. Last year we homeschooled, this year my daughter is attending a magnet school for the arts in a neighboring district. I wanted to keep homeschooling but she wanted to give this a try and I felt I needed to honor that. After all, how could I successfully homeschool a child who was going to grumble about what she was missing out on constantly? So my husband and I decided to let her give it a shot. We figured it would be a good experience for seeing the other side of things. It’s been 8 weeks and I can honestly say that we are all much more haggard and stressed than we ever were with homeschooling. I spend as much time helping with homework, dealing with paperwork, calming down anxieties from the day and preparing for the next day as I would actually homeschooling. I’ve also seen a big shift in attitude and self-esteem that I am not too thrilled with. Some of it could be hormones but I’m slow to place all the blame there. When this little experiment began I was hopeful. Then I shifted to supportive of my daughter and her wants. Now I realize that I am not cut out to be a public school parent nor do I think I want my child having more than one year of this experience. I haven’t left a comment at the other post but I wanted to weigh in with my thoughts here. Having done them both, I’d say that yes, homeschool does have its tough days and it takes a while to get in the swing, but there are many, many joys that it brings to the whole family – something we simply haven’t seen with public school yet. If anything, public school seems to be sucking the life right out of our family and we’re having to work twice as hard to find those joyful moments.

  6. momlovesbeingathome Says:

    Tammy, you did a great job with your comment! I already told Karen on her blog that, after reading the post, I was going to comment but the two of you had already covered everything quite nicely. 😉

  7. Roxanna Says:

    Tammy,
    You made so many wonderful points about what Homeschoolers do not miss out on as opposed to what they may be missing. I also appreciated what you said about Homeschoolers actually living life, instead of just preparing for it. Very true!!

  8. Georgia Says:

    You have put it so excellently!
    I am 14 and have been homeschooled for just over a year. We also moved to a different town last year, so i have never been to school in this town. Many people ask me if i struggle with friends etc… actually i am very happy and have lots of friends here from youth groups and hobbies, (e.g girl guides) who i see all the time. I am extremly busy and never board! At lunch time me and my mum take the dog out for a walk and spend quality time together.
    The fact that i didn’t know anyone here at first speaks volumes, as i now have many good friends!
    I have progressed so much in my work! If i don’t understand something we will go back and do it until i do understand it! I still get homework (hahaha) which keeps me occupied and go on alot of trips with all my friends.


Comments are closed.

