Is It Worth It to Argue?

Ok, there are two blog posts I’m sitting on right now, not sure if I should post them.

One is a response to a particularly acidic blog post about how homeschooling isn’t working because her crying kids aren’t doing what she is asking them to, and is bitter that homeschooling isn’t a “honeymoon”.

The second is a question about unschooling and how could it possibly ever work and what the hell are these poor unschooled kids going to do when they “finally” are faced with the reality of having to do something other than play.

My question to myself – should I let it go? Or go ahead and answer?

It’s Talk Like a Pirate Day, so I’ll avaste and arrgh myself through the day today, while thinking about this.

Happy Talk Like a Pirate Day!

8 Responses to “Is It Worth It to Argue?”

  1. Anna Says:

    You are asking the wrong person, my friend. It is ALWAYS worth it to argue.

  2. Tammy Says:

    Anna, I knew you’d say that! I was actually thinking of you as I finished off this post 🙂 *hugs*

  3. Angela Says:

    I wanna read it! Post it! Post it! *said in best enabling voice*

  4. Stephanie Says:

    1. If there is this much resistance it’s time for Mom to take a different approach and it doesn’t much matter if it’s math or making beds.

    2. I have yet to encounter any situation in Real Life ™ that resembles compulsory education in any way, shape, or form.

    3. Ergo, have at it! I’m bringing popcorn and a lawn chair :D.

  5. Doc Says:

    In your first few months of blogging, it probably would have been totally worth it, for the traffic AND the comments. Then you reach a point where you have to pick your battles, because you don’t know if you want to deal with the comments. Then you come to blog nirvana, where nothing seems worth arguing about and you turn your comments off. I’m almost there….

  6. Sheri Says:

    Hmmm, a toughy.

    The only thing I can think to ask you is…Do you REALLY WANT to answer?

    I say, if your heart is pulling you to, then answer. As long as you are prepared to be completely ignored (by them) or worse, lambasted for your effort.

    Just tell your truth and if they don’t like it, well then…they can walk the plank! This is your ship after all.

    Arrrrrrggh! Shiver me timbers.

  7. Kimberly Says:

    Will you reply change how either of these people think? In other words, is it worth it to trade your time and energy to respond to people who don’t want to hear the truth anyway? Is there a chance that your words may fall on fertile soil?

    If so, post away….

    Hugs, Kimberly

  8. Jessica (Trivium Academy) Says:

    Say it! I tend to go safer with my opinions because I’m still considered a rookie (in our 2nd year) but when I have time under my belt- I’m not sure I’ll play it so safe…

    Go for it!
    Jessica


Leave a Reply

