What Are You Doing This Weekend?

This weekend we’re getting ready for our trip home.

Although I love being here with my family, I miss home. I miss hubby, my friends, my house, my bed…my routine. The kids don’t want to leave their cousins, but they do want  to go home.

So today, I’m carting around 6 kids to soccer games while my step-mom carts my dad to the hospital. See, after his back surgery and what looked like a speedy recovery, he’s developed a staph infection.

Tomorrow is packing day. Then we’re leaving Monday for our 1000 mile trip home. Staying in Utah overnight.

Hubby is in Amsterdam until Wednesday.

Although I love the fact that homescholing allows us to pick up and leave when we want, I sure do love my routine at home.

So, what about you? What does your weekend look like?

13 Responses to “What Are You Doing This Weekend?”

  1. Anna Says:

    Chris took the kids to his parents (ick) and I am cleaning.

  2. Tammy Says:

    Anna! You have time to yourself without the kids and you’re cleaning? Please tell me when you say “I am cleaning” you mean a facial or a bath. 🙂

  3. Sheri Says:

    Today I played my recently created Barbarian Beastlord, tromped through Greater Fay (Kelethin) and bashed some beasties. I’m so eager to get my pet kitty.

    Rough life, eh?

  4. Tammy Says:

    Ok Sheri, I’m thinking that only about 5% of the readers will get what you’re talking about 🙂

    That used to be the story of my weekends too. Although, I played a Gnome Mage, and looked forward to my next AA ability. Never did get my epic pet. But I did make 800,000 plat. I still have it on my dormant char.

    Right now, I have no kids at my feet. 4 of them are up the street playing on a slip-n-slide in the neighbor’s yard, one is at soccer, and the 6th is taking a nap.

    Crazy. So what am I doing? OBSESSING about the light showers that are slated to occur the day we’re heading home. God, you can totally tell I’m from California.

  5. Sheri Says:

    I figured it would be less than 5%, but I knew that YOU would know what I meant. hehe

    800,000 pp? Yikes.

    I’ve never had more than enough plat to buy a horse.

    I’ve been playing EQ for nearly 8 years and my highest char is 48… tells you how much I actually play.

    Don’t have any of my epic weapons or anything like that. I don’t LDoN and I hardly ever group with strangers. I only have 8 of the 13 expansions (only 8 I say, I think that still qualifies me as a geek) and I rarely play unless Hubby is.

    Anyway, about the rain…I’m not one to ask. I’m from Ottawa…rain one minute, sun the next, snow after that, then back to sun and then rain again.

    And no matter what it’s doing, we’re complaining. Gives us something to talk about. 😛

  6. Susan K. Stewart Says:

    I share you need for routine. My life has been so our of routine for a year that now I’m able to establish one again, I don’t know what to do.

    I, too, am alone for awhile this weekend and I’m certainly not cleaning. I figure, I don’t clean much otherwise, why do it when I have time to myself?

    I think I’ll plan my routine.

  7. annamaren Says:

    LOL at the EQ talk. I have Level 5 fairy. She’s been level 5 for about 4 years. ; )
    DH creates time for himself to play, me- I sew. Which is what I did this weekend!
    And it rained here too. We needed it.
    Travel safe on your way home, that’s a looong drive. Hope your dad is doing better soon.
    peace,
    anna : )

  8. Tammy Says:

    Sheri – my dad’s neighbor said, “You’re not afraid of rain are you?” I need to get out of Cali more often.

    Susan – just goes to show that unschooling doesn’t mean not having a routine or rhythm. And, I’m right there with ya on the cleaning.

    Anna – Thanks about my dad. He’s slowly healing.

  9. tobeme Says:

    Sounds like you are done and ready to be home.
    This weekend was busy, we had a family reunion which meant a two hour trip and visiting with folks and eating way too much. Great time had by all.

  10. Tammy Says:

    Mark – You’re right. We are very ready to be home. And, why is it that getting family together means eating too much? I think I picked up an extra chin in Colorado.

  11. dancingboysmom Says:

    Sorry to hear about your dad. I hope he improves soon. Was he readmitted? How’s he doing now?

    My weekend consisted of much too much shopping. Of course, any shopping is too much for me. 🙂 But I have coffee in the pantry again so I will be happy about it.

  12. Tammy Says:

    dancingboysmom – Thanks. My dad was only readmitted to get an antibiotic treatment, then released. Thanks for asking. Did you manage to find some “me” time over the weekend?

  13. dancingboysmom Says:

    Me? Who’s that? 😉 I’m getting better at it. I suppose my dh would say that buying shoes at Nordstrom’s counts as “me” time. hehe.


Leave a Reply

