Who Are YOU?

I’m always blabbering on about me and my opinions on this blog. Today, this blog is dedicated to YOU!

Momlovesbeingathome posted a great idea on her blog today. In honor of her stealing borrowing the idea from Rindy’s Blog, I will follow suit.

In the comments, answer these questions. If you don’t want people to know who you are, feel free to go anon or make up a name. Time for a reader shout-out!

Who are you?
Where are you?
What do you do?
Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?)
Tell us one other thing about yourself.

15 Responses to “Who Are YOU?”

  1. Anna Says:

    Who are you?
    I am Anna. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. I suspect I will die not truly knowing who I am.

    Where are you?
    McCordsville, IN, but I hate it here. In the last four years, I have made some amazing friendships. I am very close geographically and emotionally to my parents. If it were not for these people, I would leave in a heartbeat.

    What do you do?
    I write. I learn. I try to maintain some degree of order in my house, but usually fail. I now am a runner, which I never thought I would be. I read the paper every single day, front to back. I blog. I dance. I sing. I observe. I teach.

    Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?)
    Yes. Since the little devils arrived.

    Tell us one other thing about yourself.
    I feel that I am meant for something other that what I am doing.

  2. Sheri Says:

    I am Me. Well, I’m me as often as possible but sometimes other things take priority.

    I live in Ottawa, Canada. (Born and raised and other than an eight month stint in Victoria, B.C., I’ve been here my whole life.

    Mostly I think and write. That is, when I’m not doing housework, running errands or engaged with the kids and/or hubby.

    Yes, we are homeschooling. We started our “deschooling” journey about 7 months ago when my daughter was 11.

    My ultimate dream is to run a Medieval themepark.

  3. Rindy Says:

    Excellent idea! 😉
    Who am I? I’m a Christian single mom of 3 preteen/teen guys who are incredible!

    Where? western NY

    What do? I’m a physical therapist working in special educ, but feeling a call to move more into ministry–God is leading, I’m just the follower.

    Homeschool? No–and am extremely happy with my guys being in public schools–it’s been great!

    Something else? I’m an adrenaline junkie 🙂 always looking for a challenge!!

  4. Donna Says:

    I am Donna. I live in Northeast Ohio. I create handsewn clothing for kids, both to sell and for my own children. I am unschooling my nine-year-old and four-year-old daughters. Schooling at home has given me the opportunity to continue schooling myself–I have been teaching myself Japanese for the past two years.

  5. Doc Says:

    Who am I? Mom, retired biologist, regular person (with a trust fund), nonconformist
    Where am I? Secluded, gated, plot o’ land, Oregon Coast Range
    What do I do? Give, take, teach, love. Raise teens, goats, sheep, and hell.
    Am I homeschooling? Reluctantly. 20 years.
    One other thing: All my meaningful relationships have been with left handers. I’m right handed.

  6. momlovesbeingathome Says:

    Well, since you participated on mine it’s only fair that I do on yours. 😉

    Who are you? Mom loves being at home
    Where are you? Oklahoma
    What do you do? I’m a stay at home wife and mother of two
    Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?) Yes, we are beginning our 8th year this year!
    Tell us one other thing about yourself. I met my husband when I was 14 – the same age that my daughter is now. YIKES!!

  7. embejo Says:

    Embejo from New Zealand. I’m a home with three children under 4. The oldest turning 5 in November. Will officially start home schooling her then although we’ve really already started. One other thing about me….I stay up too late at night.

  8. Mandy Says:

    I’m Mandy, a SAHM and wife in Mississippi. Our son is 2 and we are preschool homeschooling him. We just started last week and I don’t know who is enjoying it more…him or me!! In my former life I was a teacher and librarian.

  9. Linda Says:

    Who: Oakland, CA native married to a transplant from PA, mother of one so far.

    Where: SF Bay Area

    What: full-time parent, part-time Music Together teacher.

    Homeschooling? Yes! Our son is 20 months and I believe we’ve been unschooling him since birth. Why is it that kids hit five and suddenly the parents are no longer “qualified” to teach them? We’ve been doing it all along, right?

    One other thing: My family has plans to sail away for a long-term cruise when our kids are older.

  10. arun Says:

    >> Who are you?
    a slightly neurotic, reforming control freak who sounds much more mindful and sane on the internet than in real life (except in that sentence anyway)

    >> Where are you?
    in australia, byron bay, on the couch surrounded by magnets, a toy pram, red baloon and pictures of fairies.

    >> What do you do?
    hang out with my lover (with whom i do a home biz) and kids, write stuff, watch sci fi, drink banana smoothies and try to leave this world a better place than how i found it.

    >> Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?)
    yup. DD is 5yrs and DS is 16 months. So for 5yrs.

    >> Tell us one other thing about yourself.
    When I was young I wanted to patent the idea of a “hollow chop stick” (sort of like a combination of a straw and chop sticks). That way you could eat your noodles and then suck up the soup too. I never got around to it so if you do please send me a cheque for the idea when you make your millions.

  11. Kimberly Says:

    Who are you?

    Kimberly, Mama… friend, lover, daughter, sister, granddaughter, thinker, feminist, environmentalist…human being.

    Where are you?

    Sitting in a chair in an old house in southern California.

    What do you do?

    I write, I sing, I create, I learn, I laugh, I love, I live.

    Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?)

    I hate the term homeschooling, but yes we learn outside of the government and private schooling systems. We’ve been learning all of our lives, and that’s not likely to change.

    Tell us one other thing about yourself.

    I cut off almost 2 ft. of hair earlier this year (in 3 home sessions to ease the transition), and sometimes I regret it. But it’s hair, so I know it will grow back.

  12. Kris B Says:

    Who are you?
    I’m mom, friend, wife, cheerleader, author.

    Where are you?
    The Big Island of Hawaii

    What do you do?
    I write, I guide, I mostly drive kids from one activity to another and run up a huge gas bill.

    Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?)
    Yes, always. Oldest is close to fifteen, so I guess I’m no longer a “new” homeschooler.

    Tell us one other thing about yourself.
    I’ve always been the Kool-Aid mom. My kids friends will just as likely sit and talk to me as they will my kids. And I like it that way.

  13. Stephanie Says:

    Who are you?
    Nuts. Completely, utterly off my rocker. Or at least, that’s what the voices in my head tell me. In my more lucid moments I haunt the knitter’s corner at homeschool conferences and try to pay attention to my children when they say they will never, ever in a million years read that particular textbook, no matter how cute it looked in the vendor’s stall or how much money I might plunk down on it.
    Where are you?
    Sunny Southern CA – only I do wish it weren’t quite so sunny right now. I miss rain.
    What do you do?
    Everything that looks interesting. Right now I have a huge batch of oil on the stove that is waiting for its turn at saponification – but it is going to have to wait until the accidental..er, unintentional…uh, *serendipitous* science experiment in the kitchen sink is cleared up.
    Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?)
    Officially it has been a little over a year. Unofficially it has been closer to two, starting with when I told my children’s teachers that homework was considered optional in my house.
    Tell us one other thing about yourself
    As far as I can tell without further research, my homeschooling style can best be described as if Douglas Adams (of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy fame) had written the Tao. My homeschooling files have Don’t Panic written in large, friendly letters on the covers and there is always a towel on hand just in case. It’s also good to know that bad poetry can be a very effective weapon at times as I shall never go unarmed.

  14. Angel Says:

    Who are you?
    Carol, wife, mother for four, three have special needs

    Where are you?
    Somerset, UK

    What do you do?
    SAHM, homeschooler, carer

    Are you homeschooling? (If so, how long?)
    Yes for 3 years, 4 mths

    Tell us one other thing about yourself.
    My life tends to roll along accidently falling into one thing then another – would love to plan something for a change.

  15. Mom of All Seasons Says:

    Who are you? Jamie. Voracious reader. Constant learner. Atheist. Mom to The Boy. Wife to The Dad. Always me.
    Where are you? In West Michigan, for now.
    What do you do? Keep our home and lives moving smoothly and out of debt; edit a friends books for grammar and continuity; constantly question why and how we do things; avoid using my Master’s Degree; stir up trouble in the extended family on occassion; knit, scrapbook, cross-stitch and do lots of other crafts that I once vowed I would never do.
    Are you homeschooling? All day, every day. The Boy was sprung from kiddie jail back in 2002.
    Tell us one other thing about yourself. I am weaning myself from driving and hope to have one of the cars out of the garage by the New Year.


Leave a Reply

