CHN Conference – Sunday

“I liked your wife’s talk. It was interesting and strange.”

That was a comment my husband got in regards to my “Fearless Homeschooling” talk today.

I’m going to take that as a compliment. It means I achieved my goal. In the session description I wrote, “A new perspective on homeschooling!” Sounds like I gave them what I promised.

I also talked about writing, reading and storytelling. I felt a little scattered in that one, but I enjoyed it a lot. I love talking about writing and creative expression. I ended up surprsing myself on some of the insights I shared with the group about my own creative process. I almost felt like I was a kid again.

My mom and my husband’s parents came out to join us today. My mom led the grandparents roundtable. My mother-in-law joined her. We spent some time with them, and with some of our friends.

This year was so different than the year before. Partly because I was a full-blown presenter this year. And also because we spent so much time hanging with our friends. On our way home, our oldest, who is 9, said to me, “Mommy! I can’t believe Cody was there. And so was Nicholas. And there were so many other people knew there. They’re all homeschoolers too!”

It really felt comfortable. We weren’t always in “meet new people” mode. We had many opportunities to re-connect with friends and hang out with people we already knew. Overall, it felt more balanced. And more homey. I’m already looking forward to next year.

2 Responses to “CHN Conference – Sunday”

  1. Anna Says:

    Interesting and strange! That is you! Brilliant.

    I am soooo saving to come to this next year. More incentive to get something published so that I can write off the trip!

    Wish the grandmothers would talk to my mom!

  2. Sheri Says:

    I would agree that the interesting and strange comment was indeed a compliment. At least, that’s how I’d choose to take it.

    Sounds like a great experience. Congratulations and kudos to you for your full throttle involvement in helping gently shape the homeschooling world and inspring so many others.


Leave a Reply

