Words of Homeschooling Wisdom

Ami from the A2ZHome’sCool e-list shared with us her list of impressions of homeschooling after 14 years. Here are some of the things she said:

1) If I had it to do all over again… I would, right now, while I am thinking about homeschooling, check out every book in the library about homeschooling, particularly those from John Holt.

2) I would have evaluated what his educational NEEDS are vs. the busywork that school expects. Schooling and Learning are mutually exclusive in my opinion. Real learning, the kind that gets into your middle, the kind you can pass on, doesn’t usually come from a textbook.

3) If I chose to use any curriculum at all, (and knowing now what I didn’t know then, I wouldn’t), I would also try to go to a curriculum fair or find a homeschool group so I could look at many different books etc. without having to buy. Most experienced homeschoolers can tell stories of money spent on supplies never used. It can add up.

4) Here’s what I see as the only drawback to homeschooling: Once you start, it’s awfully hard to consider going back to public school, and many people end up homeschooling all their kids, even if they were just going to keep one or two at home. You find out that there are so many ways to learn and so many opportunities to learn things that aren’t in a book.

5) If a person is going to use a curriculum, that person should not waste a child’s time (and their own) by making them a slave to it. Curriculum is a tool to be used by you, you’re not supposed to be used by a book.

6) If the child knows the information, why make them write it? I totally hate busywork. Neither one of my kids have ever done a parts of speech worksheet, a spelling test or had a reading lesson from me. The oldest is making good grades in college, the youngest is a terrific writer.

7) It’s been 14 years since we brought our son home to learn away from the institution. It’s taken many years for me to realize what a gift it was for all of us. We’ve all learned so much. Enjoy the time you have homeschooling. It doesn’t last long.

3 Responses to “Words of Homeschooling Wisdom”

  1. tobeme Says:

    Tammy,
    You have provided some great food for thought for anyone is considering homeschooling! I am sure many people who desire to do this feel very lost at first.

  2. Summer Says:

    Those are great thoughts, thank you for sharing them here. 🙂 I think I need to join that elist.

  3. Tara Says:

    This is a great list… very nicely wrapped up. Thanks for posting it. I’m struggling with #4 myself right now as T goes to a new school this year – one for the performing and visual arts. This was her choice and the school is head and shoulders above our district public school, but it’s still a public institution. I’ve got my homeschool stash tucked away “just in case.”


Leave a Reply

