The Education Revolution

Have you heard of AERO? I just found their website today. The fact that I haven’t heard of them in the homeschooling communities makes me wary that I’m missing something. But, this seems like an interesting organization. Anyone know anything about AERO?

4 Responses to “The Education Revolution”

  1. anna Says:

    Um, yeah- it looks very well done. Is there something I don’t know about AERO? Why haven’t I seen this group within homeschooling circles?

  2. lori Says:

    I’ve been a member of AERO for about 4 years, which enables me to be on their listserv. I also receive their magazine 6 times a year (I think). I found them when I first started looking for alternatives to public schools for my daughter.

    The organization has been around for a long time and has been involved internationally with alternative schools, and specifically, democratic education. The founder, Jerry Mintz, is a democratic school proponent (like Sudbury Valley), so there’s a lot of discussion about those kinds of schools on the list. But Montessori, free schools, other non-traditional schools and even homeschooling come up a lot, too, as do other topics related to children and education. Basically, the organization supports any kind of school or education that doesn’t follow the traditional public school model, and Jerry actively helps alternative schools get off the ground.

    I have learned an *ton* from my time on the list, as well as from mining the resources on AERO’s web site. When I started my research, I knew nothing about alternative schooling. All I knew were traditional “academic” private schools, independent and Catholic. But I knew that I absolutely had to have something completely different for my daughter. I had no idea how radically different schools could be until I stumbled upon AERO’s web site.

    Also, AERO has been hosting annual conferences for the past few years. People come from all over the country and abroad to speak and/or participate. John Taylor Gatto and Alfie Kohn often serve as keynote speakers.

    So I guess you can say that I like AERO.

  3. Tammy Says:

    anna and lori – thanks so much for your feedback. I signed up for their newsletter. And I think I’ll try a one year membership.

  4. Sheri Says:

    Thanks for sharing this information. I’ve never heard of this organization before either. I plan to check it out much more in the future. 🙂


Leave a Reply

