More Time to Learn

Do you sometimes wish that there were more hours in the day so we can fit in more learning? Or more fun? Or more work?

I do. For example, when I walk into a library and see how many books I want to read, but I know I’ll never even make a dent in the literary ocean. Or when I think of all the things I want to write. All the places I want to visit. All the things I want to show my kids. There is just never enough time for all of it.

There never is enough time. No matter how much time we try to “add” to our lives.

As a variable, time is a constant. A limited, small space in which to squeeze in our life.

There is no way, ever, even if we lived 200 years and we had 30 years to teach our kids, that we would be able to fit in everything. Or even fit in most things.

The only thing we can do is decide what is most important, and fill our lives with the most important things as often as we can. And let go of the rest. And “the rest” will be a very large percentage of the things that are available in the world, but we won’t get to.

That’s right – let it go. If we spend even one moment thinking about what we’re missing, we’re wasting precious time that we could be spending pondering on things that are right in front of us. If put our energy on anything other than the most important stuff, we’re taking time away from the things that give meaning to our lives.

Don’t try to put more time in your life, put more life in your time.

3 Responses to “More Time to Learn”

  1. tobeme Says:

    I like that line, “put more life into your time”, it says so much!
    Time is the great equalizer, we all get the same 24 hours each day, it is how we decide to use it that makes the difference.

  2. anna Says:

    Oh, I hear ya!
    Balance is a verb.
    I so often wish that I had more time to fit everything in. I wish it so hard that I end up fueling my days with coffee!

  3. Brenda Marie Says:

    I do wish there were more hours in the day a lot of time. I guess I really need to work on putting more life into each moment instead. Thanks for the great reminder of how sacred each moment of our lives is.

    Brenda Marie
    http://www.livin-smart.net
    http://www.livin-smart.com


Leave a Reply

