5 Stressful Things in Life

Where does your stress come from?

For me, this is what creates stress in my life:

1) When what I expect doesn’t happen. (I’m working on reducing the number of expectations I have – you know, intention without attachment and all that).

2) When I ask someone to do something, they say “OK”, then they don’t do it – or worse, they do the exact opposite of what I ask. (Working on reducing the number of things I ask of people to solve this one. Also, reducing the stress of #1 helps with this.)

3) When the people I love hurt each other.

4) When I feel helpless, trapped or otherwise being coerced beyond my control to do or think things (this includes passive-aggressive behavior). (This is one reason why we homeschool, because school provides so much of this kind of stress for everyone in the family. And in everyday life, I generally try to avoid people and situations that create this kind of stress. I have tried the “stand up and fix the situation” approach and only made it worse. Avoidance seems the best solution.)

5) When my space has too much input: this can include clutter, noise, tactile, or smells.

Studies show that stress decreases learning. By reducing stress, we make it easier (and more fun) to learn.

I also think that 90% of the time, we have control over our life stresses. And 90% of the time, the solution is a change of perspective.

What are your 5 things that stress you out and are you actively trying to reduce these kinds of stress?

Then, can we identify the 5 things that make our kids stressed out and how can we make their lives less stressful?

3 Responses to “5 Stressful Things in Life”

  1. tobeme Says:

    It is good to identify our stressors. The funny thing is that we are the creator of most of our stress, therefore if we create it, we can eliminate it.

  2. Sheri Says:

    Hi Tammy,

    As usual a thought provoking question. First I will start by saying that I’m always actively trying to reduce all my stress. Not always successfully, but I try.

    The 5 things that stress me out the most are:

    1) Like you, clutter. Whether it’s physical, mental or emotional, too much “stuff” just freaks me out.

    2) Unasked for opinions. I don’t know why but people seem to feel comfortable offering me their unsolicited advice and it’s gotten much more frequent since I started homeschooling.

    3) Intrusions in general. Whether it be if I’m on the phone, or writing or even in the tub…it happens…getting walked in on or otherwise interrupted while I’m in the middle of something. (I don’t even have call waiting.)

    4) Laundry. That may sound silly but the whole repetitive nature of the process and the sheer abundance of clothes and linens that a family of four dirties in a week boggles and frustrates me to no end. Because it doesn’t end…ever.

    5) Christmas. Now don’t get me wrong…I love Christmas, which in our house is still Jesus’ birthday, and I revel in almost every aspect of it. But I always get so stressed out about presents. Trying to fight the materialistic consumer based notions of giving and implement a more holistic and spiritual practise for this holiday is not an easy task.

    There you have it. I actually wasn’t even sure what I was going to write when I started, so thanks for helping me pin down some of my stress factors.

  3. Carol Says:

    5 things that cause stress (and how I try to fix it):
    *My husband being stressed (do what I can to help)
    *The kids being stressed (give them a day off)
    *The house being a mess (get the team together and clean)
    *Not enough sleep (try to keep to a reasonable bedtime)
    *A broken laptop (bug hubby to fix it… uh, without stressing him more)

    What stresses the kids?
    Mom being stressed!


Leave a Reply

