Thinking vs. Doing

My son tells me today, “I don’t like thinking, I like doing.”

That’s pretty much sums it up for him. And explains why too much ‘meta-learning’ makes him crazy.

It’s interesting though that an 8 year old, who is not generally all that introspective, came up with that clear self-understanding.

I wonder, is it a “guy” thing? The preferring “doing” over “thinking”? Cuz hubby is like that too. Although, I’m drawing out his “thinking” side, and he’s drawing out my “doing” side.

My 6 year old daughter – she’s a thinker. The baby she’s a thinker AND a doer. Both girls are storytellers. My son is not a storyteller, except for ‘just the facts’ and ‘how things work’ stories.

I don’t know why I bring this up except to say that I’m glad that we’re able to integrate everyone’s learning and living styles. And, learn from each other being so different.

3 Responses to “Thinking vs. Doing”

  1. tobeme Says:

    We do have different learning styles. It is very astute that you son can communicate to you what his is. I do not beleive that learning styles have anything to do with gender.

  2. Anna Says:

    Not a guy thing at all. My son is the verbal storyteller with great characters and lots of detail. My husband will draw painstaking designs before starting a project (though he is not an instruction reader). I am all thinking and a big delegator of the doing. No clue yet what the little one will be like.

  3. Josiah Says:

    I’m very much a thinker, to the point of almost being incapable of action. This has been a huge problem for me for years. I’m really feeling the effects of it these days as I’m now getting into my upper divisions in philosophy. I’m so incapable of action and trapped in thought, that I can’t even succeed in philosophy!

    On whether it’s a male / female trait, well I’m more apt to think it’s an issue of personality. The Myers-Briggs is my preferred tool for explaining people (to a limited extent of course). I am an INTJ (introverted, intuitive, thinking, judging), which is considered the scientist / intellectual type. As far as I understand it, too much thought and not enough action largely corresponds to introversion as opposed to extraversion. Extraverts tend to be all about action, they are inclined to want to go out and DO things, whereas introverts want to think, and sometimes it is to the point of not doing *anything* because they only want to continue thinking. This is not true of all introverted types, and of course with development any type is quite capable of learning to both think and act, but from my general observations I think it largely holds true. Sensing types also seem more inclined to action than Intuitive types, who are more prone to abstracting and “theorizing.”

    Anyway, I’ll stop babbling now. If it interests you, there are some good sites which explain Jungian personality theory (and the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator) and how they work.

    http://www.myersbriggs.org/my-mbti-personality-type/mbti-basics/


Leave a Reply

