Homeschoolers Who Read

Christine over at the ThinkingMother blog talks about how and when she finds time to read as a homeschooling mom.

What a great topic! When do you read? What do you read? How do you find the time?

Here’s what I read:

1) Magazines: The perfect reading material for busy moms. The mags I read are Utne, Spirituality and Health, Shambala Times, Newsweek, Everyday with Rachel Ray, the Writer, Writer’s Journal, Life Learning, Live Free Learn Free, HomeEdMag and some of my hubby’s mags. I always have a mag on me, in the car, it the bathroom, by the bedside. Mags are the best for short spurts of reading, don’t usually tax the brain too much, and if an article is not interesting to me, I don’t have to give up the whole mag, just move on to the next article.

2) Young Adult fiction: The past few years, I’ve discovered this untapped source of good literature. It started with The Giver by Lois Lowry. Then I moved on to Holes by Louis Sachar. I just finished reading the latest installment of Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl books. Lots of good stuff to be found on the “New YA” rack at the library, without unnecessary gore or scenes just for shock value. And, there’s something about YA fiction – if I didn’t know any better, I’d say the authors are, in general, better writers and story tellers. Lastly, YA fiction is easy to read, gives the reader hope, and puts me back in the place of what it was like to be a kid – something that’s hard to do sometimes when I’m in the throes of homeschooling the kiddos.

3) Nonfiction: I have stepped away from reading about homeschooling. I still read books about education in general, and have even picked up a few books from the library about the sucktitude of our current educational system. But in general, I don’t read those kinds of books anymore. Instead, I tend to lean towards spiritual books, social reform/observations, women’s studies, self-help/psychology/sociology, writing/publishing and whatever interests I’m currently working on. Right now, I’m interested in negotiation, public speaking and business communication. So, I have a few of those books on my pile.

4) Blogs. I count reading blogs as “reading”. Because it moves me to read blogs. It makes me think. It gives me fodder for writing. The only down side to reading blogs – I can respond right away. I wonder, if one day, non-fiction books will be like blogs?

How do I find time? Let’s see – I read in the morning sometimes when I get up and I don’t feel like getting out of bed. I also read in the middle of the night when I can’t sleep. I read before going to bed. I read in the car, at the park, while the kids are playing in the front yard, waiting at the dr.s office – I always have something with me to read. This is nothing new for me though. Even before I had kids, I had this habit. I guess I get bored easy, and I know this, so I have learned to bring a book for those moments of quiet. Although nowadays, I sometimes use that quiet to meditate.

I have also been known to read while: cooking, swinging the kids, walking somewhere, in line at D-land and at restaurants.

Reading and writing are things I can’t help but do. I only need a mere sliver of an opportunity to see the green light for pulling out my book or magazine or journal. I don’t need to make time for it, because it’s part of who I am.

We are a family of readers. All five of us, sitting on various surfaces, book in hand, the house quiet – that’s not an unusual scene here. Even though we are all doing our own thing, it’s one of the activities we love to do together.

So, when do you, as a parent in whatever situation you are in, read? And, what do you read?

Leave a Reply

