Credentials to Homeschool

In light of recent discussion about homeschoolers having credentials, I decided to take on a new blog project, to see if indeed there is something I’m missing out on (and by extension, my kids) by not having a teaching credential. I want to give it a fair run, and I’ll try to be as open as I can to what I can learn from those who have gone through the hoops.

So, the first step for this project is to make a list of all the skills, specifically, a credential assures. Here’s my quick and dirty attempt to bring it together before I run out to my yoga class. Please feel free to add to my list, or to let me know if I’m mistaken about my assumptions.

A teacher’s certification provides these skills:

classroom management
orchestrating group activities
designing lesson plans
understanding learning directives
tests and all the comes with that
designing homework
designing classroom projects
grading and other kinds of assessment
how to deal with violence and other problems
working with parents
working with different learning styles
understanding the different educational philosophies
history of education
state laws of what is required of teachers
communication in front of a group
focused instruction on teaching a topic of specialty

I’m sure I’m missing something, but I need to run. Please add to my list. Thanks!

2 Responses to “Credentials to Homeschool”

  1. Joanne Says:

    the connection between needs assessment, developing objectives for learning, developing appropriate learning and practice activities, and authentic assessment/evaluation, which leads to the next needs assessment, etc. (the learning cycle)

    theories of how people learn, and what interferes with learning

    the difference between how children approach learning, and how adults approach it

    awareness of one’s own biases toward learning/teaching styles (we tend to teach in ways that suit our own learning style, or in ways we’ve been taught)

    subject-specific methods, and appropriately matching method to learning objective

    a sensitivity towards whether an activity is educational, or just bells and whistles

    making learning interdisciplinary

    writing as a way of learning (not just as a way of communicating)/writing across the curriculum

  2. momlovesbeingathome Says:

    Great job! I am a homeschooler as well and that’s one thing that has always bugged me – people thinking you need some kind of degree or teaching certificate to teach. Someone who has gone through college to be a teacher is not any better prepared to teach my kids than I am. They are better prepared to manage a classroom full of 30 kids-period. I went to elementary school. I went to junior high (of course now it’s middle school). I went to high school. I KNOW this stuff! I even went to college (slowly but surely!) but I don’t believe you need a college degree OR a teaching certificate to teach your children. Just spending that one on one time with your kids everyday, reading books together, studying the curriculum together, etc., all of that is going to make you a good teacher.

    I’m not sure if you were looking for comments like this so I hope I haven’t offended! 🙂


Leave a Reply

