Getting Rid of Homework

I am really impressed with our local elementary schools.

Our neighbor told me today that they got rid of homework. That’s right – no homework. Instead, the kids have 1 or 2 week-long projects they work on at home, that they get to choose (among a set of pre-determined options of course). And, how they present the final result is ultimately up to them.

When she told me this, I nearly fainted. And for a very short fleeting moment I thought about how that might be an OK school situation for our kiddos. I mean, homework is a BIG issue for us. And one of the reasons we aren’t sending our kids to school.

But, then, I came to my senses. We have LOTS of reasons why we don’t do the whole full-day, full-year school thing. But man, I have to say that I’m really impressed with our local elementary schools for dumping homework. If I could, I’d give our schools a high-five.

4 Responses to “Getting Rid of Homework”

  1. JoVE Says:

    Though they still keep the idea that kids have to do something school related during non-school time. At the elementary level, why aren’t kids just going home and playing with their friends, playing board games and card games, watching TV, playing video games or whatever. Where has the idea come that someone school has to reach into even more hours of our life?

    But this is a small success.

  2. Mr. Wiggles Says:

    HOMEWORK SUCKS! IT SHOULD DIE!

  3. Junior Says:

    I LOVE HOMEWORK!!!

  4. hi Says:

    GET RID OF IT!!!! I SPEND HOURS ON HOMEWORK EACH NIGHT IT SUCKS I CANT PURSUE MY MUSICAL AND PHYSICAL NEEDS!!!
    ALL THE COMMENTS ON OTHER WEBSITES SAY ITS NECESSARY
    BUT GUESS WHAT THEY PROBABLY HAVEN’T EXPERIENCED IT!!


Leave a Reply

