New Year’s Resolutions

I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions. But I do practice the art of pushing the life reset button. And it just so happens that post-Xmas/New Year’s is a time that the button gets pushed.

I’ve quit all my online subscriptions, I’ve re-done my writing to-do list (again), I’ve made a new list of house and family projects and I’ve made the decision to leave my fitness job and use that energy to train more for the 1/2 marathon, and to focus on taking the oh-so-socially-deprived children to more field trips and activities.

The life reset button gets pressed four or five times a year. Taking a vacation usually sparks it. Something about being away from the house and from normal life that allows one to take inventory of what’s working and what’s not. Sometimes, when we have a big gathering, that sparks it. And sometimes, hubby and I spontaneously come up with some new plan to either fix a problem, or do something fantabulously new and innovative.

I like the reset button. It’s motivating, inspiring and fun. I also like to get rid of things, and often the rest button allows us to pare down and reduce clutter: both real and figurative.

What about you? Do you do New Year’s Resolutions?

Leave a Reply

