Too Tired to Teach

After Halloween, I’m tired. So. Tired.

I’m too tired to teach.

Which is rare for me. I live and breath teaching and learning. But today. I’m too tired.

Add to that my writing deadlines and the first day of NaNoWriMo, and it’s just too much.
The kids, today, they are on their own.

Although, of course, if they need to cuddle, they can join me on the comfy couch.

But today, I’m not driving anywhere. I’m not going to come up with some cool idea on how to use popsicle sticks to make a diorama of Paris, and I’m not going to play trivia games.

My brain needs a break. My body needs a break. And frankly, the kids seem like they’re in the same mood.

And so, just as I let their brains move at their own pace, letting them take breaks and learn in spurts, I’m going to let myself take a break. And let my brain have some downtime.

Taking breaks for myself like this, when I need it, gives me wonderful perspective on what to do when the kids don’t seem to want to do much. It makes it much easier to give them a break too.

How does the saying go, “Before you can love another, you have to love yourself.” Perhaps one could also say, “Before you can take care of another, and understand their perspective, you have to take care of yourself and understand yourself.”

4 Responses to “Too Tired to Teach”

  1. Mom of All Seasons Says:

    I chalk it up to the sugar overload (and sleep deprivation deriving, thereof) from Halloween night. At first I thought it was just me, but everyone I’ve talked to today has said pretty much the same thing! So tired. Brain not working. Must sleep it off.

  2. Eric Says:

    Ahhh…the day after a holiday devoted to the sweet things in life (and I ain’t talking about emotions)… I, too, got very little teaching done with my 18 second graders. Good luck getting back into the swing of things…

    FYI – I came here by way of NaNoWriMo…I’ve added you to my NaNoWriMo blogroll (if you don’t mind). I like what I see here and will be back…

    Keep up the good work…

  3. Eric Says:

    Bad link above…I’ve fixed it…sorry 😦

  4. Jenean Says:

    Good luck with your NaNoWriMo writing!!! Exactly what I should be doing right now instead of on the internet 🙂


Leave a Reply

