Not A Visual Learner

I have tried and tried, but I have been unable to come up with an image that fits the character of this blog. I just can’t “see” how an image will look without putting it there.

I have friends who do this kind of thing for a living. I have family who can see something and draw it. Their brains work on a very image-oriented level.

Mine, on the other hand, does not. I learn by words, usually the written kind, conversation and emotion. I also am very concept oriented.

It’s important that I know how I learn, and how I see the world. I can see how my version of the world is different than my kids’ and my hubby’s. This makes it easier to work together as a team since we know each other’s perspective.

It also keeps me from pushing my kids to see things a certain way (i.e. my way) when they don’t want to (or can’t).

I guess, I’m going to have stick with the default image for this blog, until something pops out at me, or one of my color/image/visual savvy friends or family comes up with something more appropriate and original.

If you haven’t heard of learning styles before, check out these books:

Discover Your Child’s Learning Style by Mariaemma Willis
In Their Own Way by Thomas Armstrong

Leave a Reply

