Evangelizing Homeschooling

I really, really, REALLY like homeschooling. And I love giving out information for others who are curious so that they may make wise decisions for their own family based on a full array of options. However, as much as I think homeschooling is as tasty as a glass of Merlot and 80% cocoa chocolate, I can’t get my head around the idea of evangelizing it.

Ok, I admit, I’ve tried to influence some of my friends over to the Dark Side, slipping them homeschooling information, or even coming out and asking them when they are going to start homeschooling. Ah, but, in the end, I say these things to them in jest because I know that my opinions don’t really have that much weight. Utlimately it’s up to them to decide what’s best for them. I know that what’s best for me, even if we are fairly similar in our beliefs and styles, may not be best for them.

And all the rants and soapbox declarations I’ve made here and on my e-lists about unschooling, life without school, whatevah, is not to convert people, but to talk about ideas and perspectives that turn on the brain cells.

So, if I find out that any of you read my blog and follow anything I say blindly without thinking for yourself, I’m comin’ over to your place and hanging you by your toenails until you promise to come to your own conclusions!

I’ve come to realize that overt evangelizing of homeschooling is not about homeschooling. It’s about religion or politics. Or loneliness. Or insecurity. Or something. If someone’s trying to convert me, I gotta look deep into their eyes and see behind the glaze into what it really is they want from me. (And it’s not always sinister. Sometimes, people try to convert us to their way of thinking because they want a friend, or someone to agree with them. It could be that they are afraid.)

That said – life without school is pretty darn awesome. If you wanna join me, there’s ton of space on my boat. But you gotta come with your own paddle, your own packed lunch and a way to entertain yourself, cuz I ain’t gonna do it for ya. And there’s a two hour parking limit – no squatters! After that, you gotta go make your own boat.

One Response to “Evangelizing Homeschooling”

  1. Tammy Says:

    Technical prolems are causing comments to go to the wrong post. I moved this comment here:

    How come open source software works? Why is it that a group of people can voluntarily get together with no real remuneration to count on, and collaborate on developing a piece of software? And homeschoolers can’t do the same when the stakes involved are so much higher for us than for a piece of code?

    Sure we have conventions, support groups, blogs, etc. However, if there were a way to be just a tad more proactive about spreading the “good word” or “evangelize” as you put it, in the end, isn’t it the kids and hence our future that is impacted for the good?

    “I can homeschool, because there is someone who helps me succeed,” is something akin to, “sure I use open source software because there is this huge user group and I get all my questions answered if I run into a roadblock.”

    Sure you have to think for yourself, and sure you have to filter out some of the noise. I get that. But what we have as homeschoolers is so GOOD. And it could be GOOD for so many more kids. Can’t we spend some of our time trying to figure out how create a picture that opens the door to more families and hence more kids?

    Have any thoughts?

    Mark Weiss
    http://trustthechildren.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

