Dealing With Criticism

Sometimes I have to remind myself that criticism I receive either in person or on the internet about homeschooling, or unschooling, or my writing style, or my perspective on life – it’s not about me. Criticism tells me far more about the person doing the criticizing than it does about me.

It’s hard to remember though when it’s a friend or family member. Although it’s important to listen to what they have to say, because sometimes, the criticism can be useful and insightful, I try to remember that the most important thing is the relationship with my friend.

I forget that sometimes, when I’m in the heat of things, being attacked (or having the perception of being attacked) by loved ones. Or even strangers. Sometimes strangers upset me the most. I don’t know them, so I can’t understand where their criticism is coming from.

I hope to talk about criticism a lot on this blog, because it’s one of the hardest things that homeschoolers have to deal with. Not just from family and friends, but from other homeschoolers too. It’s everywhere. It’s a part of homeschooling life. Heck, it’s a part of anyone’s life. A life without criticism, is a lonely one, indeed.

One Response to “Dealing With Criticism”

  1. Robin Says:

    So true. A big one for me. I keep going back to the quote “It ain’t what people call you; it’s what you answer to.” Even if I am projecting my own insecurities onto what people say, I am choosing to project and choosing to take that projection in and answer to it-that make any sense at all? It’s kind of funny-like answering your own echo. Reminds me of those mountain goats on Brother Bear.:-D


Leave a Reply

