Homeschooling (unschooling) Is Like Going to France

(Originally posted on my previous blog on 05/12/06.)

During a discussion on the HSC e-list about unschooling, I posted this about how I view education at home for our family:

I’d say, it’s like this: I’ve been to France twice, for a total of a year and a half stay. I know it fairly well, but there’s still a ton I never got to see or do. When I bring my kids, I’ll have quite a bit of knowledge to draw from, in particular being able to speak French. But there is still that large percentage of things I didn’t get to do during my previous travels. So although I know a lot about France and the French language, we are in it together, and we are discovering the country in our own way as we travel around. That’s how I feel it is with our kids. We are experiencing the world together, and we all get different things out of it. And although I know a lot more than they do, I’m certainly not their world tour-guide. I’m their experienced traveling companion. As they get older, this will become even more poignant as they gain many experiences that will rival my own. Right now, they still depend on me a lot just to survive. But as time passes, they are taking more and more control of their own lives, and becoming more active participants in deciding which direction we, and they, should go.

One Response to “Homeschooling (unschooling) Is Like Going to France”

  1. Learning as we go… » Learning What We Need: When We Began Homeschooling Says:

    […] I do now feel like I am a parent, and not really so much a homeschooler of home educator. I feel like a traveler with my children. Sometimes I am a guide and sometimes they are my guides. I like the way Tammy at Just Enough talks about traveling. […]


Leave a Reply

