Are You a Typical Homeschooler?

An article at the Daily Bulletin talks about homeschooling for a while, then profiles one particular family. The writer, Charlote Hsu, introduces the family like this:

“Andalon’s reasons for homeschooling are typical.”

Now, what do you think comes next?

Read the article to find out what Hsu thinks are “typical” reasons.

So tell me, if someone were introducing you, would they be able to say that you are a typical homeschooler, and that your reasons for homeschooling are typical?

6 Responses to “Are You a Typical Homeschooler?”

  1. mom24bbs Says:

    Excuse me while I bang my head against the wall…

    OK, that’s better. I always have to do that after reading a so-called “report” that is actually opinion in our Local Rag.

    Guess I’m not typical ‘cuz it never crossed my mind to homeschool after Columbine. Although I do read about things like that now and say, “Glad I don’t have to worry about it for my kids;” It’s certainly not top on my list. Although, living in the school district I live in now, I would never send them because they have gang problems in the elementary schools. I really don’t want my son hanging around gang-bangers in Kindy.

    As for who started the movement…although I’m a Christian it was my understanding that Christians were mostly opposed to homeschooling at the beginning…something about removing their children’s influence from the public schools or the like. I thought it was more of a political and educational ideology.

    I guess health reasons are not “typical” so I’m not in that group. Really, one has to wonder how many homeschoolers this “reporter” knows and how many she actually interviewed.

  2. beth Says:

    Ha! I guessed Christian religion as the “typical” reason to homeschool as per media. I would not have guessed fear-based isolationism.

    I am “typical” in my group of homeschoolers– highly educated, progressive parents who have “fallen” into homeschooling based on our children’s bad experience with institutional education (and those actual “bad experiences” are somewhat varied) .

  3. Stephanie Says:

    I always find it interesting that most folks think that we choose to homeschool because of “bad schools”. Some question me because we supposedly have “great schools”, some say they can understand.

    We made the decision to homeschool because it sounded like a neat way to learn… I knew nothing about our local schools at the time.

    We continue to homeschool because we love the freedom (on all levels) that we have.

    Still wondering what a “typical homeschooler” is…

  4. Anna Says:

    Oh, good god no. Not according to that. I refuse to have a life ruled by fear of the millions what-if’s that I fight back every day. While religion DOES play a role in my choice, it is because the public schools in our area are being evangelized (word?). Our kids have a mandatory moment of silence each morning. Kids who do not comply are targeted for not being Christian enough.

    I hate it when the press pigeon holes homeschoolers. Ugh.

  5. Faerie Rebecca Says:

    Let’s see. We started homeschooling because, after a cross-country move and a poor school choice, we felt we had no community. We were traveling to a private school, and most of the people at the school lived *near their school*–shocking. So, after shelling out about $8000 for kindergarten, we decided to pull out at winter break and not return. I started a co-op (the month before we pulled out of school or even thought about homeschooling) and found like-minded, community-minded folks near me.

    So, in effect, we chose homeschooling for the socialization benefits.

    I also think those surveys where it says, “blah blah percent of homeschoolers cite being able to add religious/morals into their curriculum…” are misleading. After all, I would cite that reason, too (you know, in one of those, “Why are you homeschooling? Check all that apply.” kind of surveys), but my Pagan additions to our curriculum would probably make the writers of that survey run in terror. It’s not right to assume that simply because you cite “values” that you’re citing “Christian values” as a reason to homeschool. I like that I can bring an Earth-centered approach to science and our language/reading options. It’s not the main reason we homeschool, but it certainly would get ticked on a survey as *a* reason we homeschool.

  6. Blueberry Says:

    Not typical here by a long shot. I enjoyed reading John Holt’s books, and also Dr. Raymond Moore too, and I had no idea they were considered “humanists”.

    I’m a Christian, but we don’t homeschool because of fear or because we wanted to shield our children from evolution and such, in fact, my children were attending public school when Columbine happened. No, we began homeschooling because the schools failed to teach my children to read after I reduced myself to begging and pleading for them to send stuff home so I could work with her if they couldn’t. It was useless, so we began homeschooling and have been very happy we made that choice.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

